Writing Groups and Camp NaNoWriMo

Recently I have thought about joining a writing group, believing it to be a great way to improve my writing as well as teaching me how to take criticism without getting over-sensitive about it.  I spent a little time looking around online but struggled to find one that I felt my writing and I would fit nicely into.

I had thought to post a ‘wanted’ ad of sorts on here to see if anyone could point me in the right direction and failing that seeing if there was enough interest to begin our own.  However,  I was a little worried; I currently don’t have the free time to run one alone at the moment, although I would have been happy to chip in…but you can’t really tell someone else to start a group just so you can have your own way, can you?

And then the email came through from NaNoWriMo about CampNaNoWriMo.

I have participated in the November challenge for the past two years and learnt a lot about myself and my writing in the process.  However, I had never looked into Camp before.  So I did a little research to see what it was all about and how it differed from the November event, before deciding “hey, why not give it ago?”  The idea of the cabins sounds great to me at this point in time.  And although it won’t necessary fulfil my need for a writing group or writing circle, it might go some way to provide a short term solution.  And who knows, I might meet some great people and great writers…

So, all I have to do now is decide what I am going to work on, update my camper info, novel info and finally cabin settings and away we go!

Anyone else participating in Camp NaNoWriMo in July?  Have you done it before?  Did you find the cabins and other campers helpful or more of a distraction?

Anyone else in a writing group or circle?  Has it helped your writing?  What are your thoughts on online writing groups?

Leave a Reply

