Darkness and Light (Earthbound #3)

To visit the Earthbound index page and learn more about this story, please click here.


As I waited, I felt like I was standing on the edge of a precipice, on the cusp between knowing and not knowing. What if they answered? What if they didn’t?

Time moved on.  Nothing interrupted the peace of the clearing.  Eventually I lay down on the damp grass and stared up at the night sky, gazing longingly at the silver moon and studying the stars…all the time wondering how they had captured my imagination, my conscious and subconscious self, pondering the enchantment I had fallen under.

It was the stars that drew my attention.  I tried to see beyond them, into the darkness. Somewhere out there were the answers I sought, wrapped in a white bright light waiting for me to find. But they were beyond my reach, beyond my grasp and beyond my understanding.

Silently I pleaded with the tiny twinkling beacons that filled the firmament. Just tell me something, just one little thing that will help me to make sense of the world, of the universe. Of myself…

But things are never as they seem, and questions once asked cannot be unasked, even if you no longer desire the answer. They have been released into ether, given over to a higher power and so are beyond the control of the one asking them.

Sometimes it is better to let confusion reign, for the price of clarity can seem absurd. And knowing can be just as difficult to live with as forever remaining in the dark.

One thought on “Darkness and Light (Earthbound #3)

  1. Pingback: Invisible Changes | Sammi Cox

Leave a Reply

