Crystal Practicalities

I must confess that for this week’s prompt, I have cheated a little.  I had thought that I might write something about the lump of rose quartz currently sitting on my desk…And yet, when I sat down to write, I recalled a short story I wrote a few years ago that has sat neglected, untitled and unedited since the day I penned it.  So, now titled and reworked, I offer it up for this week’s Monday Inspiration – A Selection of Crystals


‘An’ it harm none, do what you will,’ Megan ended the chant. Her heart was racing; she hadn’t realised until she had uttered the final words just how consuming this ritual was.

Although Megan had been a practising witch for many years, the ritual she had just completed was beyond anything else she had ever worked before, but not in terms of complexity. Rather it was the fact that this was the first time she had worked with another person whilst doing her Craft.

‘My skin’s tingling,’ Megan said, rubbing her hands up and down her arms in an attempt to get it to stop. It wasn’t so much that it hurt or was uncomfortable, but the sensation was unfamiliar.

‘Mine, too,’ replied James, trying not to laugh at the faces she was pulling. James had never practised the Craft alone. His chosen path meant that he preferred to operate in a setting where the male and female energies were balanced. And so, he had always been part of a coven.

‘I have never experienced anything quite like that,’ Megan said as she dropped onto the plush rug at her feet. She was exhausted and needed a moment to get herself grounded.

She knew at once what the problem was. Megan, like most witches, was extremely sensitive to energy. That was one of the reasons she preferred to work alone. But that night, she had picked up on the magickal energies of another: James.

James went and sat on the rug beside her, lost in his own thoughts. Many things had been weighing on his mind recently.

‘I don’t know how you cope working in a circle,’ Megan commented as she lay down. ‘My head’s spinning.’

Choosing his words carefully, he hoped one of his problems would soon be solved. ‘Although I’m not immune to it, you do get used to it. In fact, I don’t think you would have any trouble adapting to a coven-setting, Megan…if it was something that you wanted. Any coven would be lucky to have you. You have so much to offer and so much you can teach.’

‘Hmm…Perhaps,’ Megan said, non-committally.

That wasn’t the comment he had been hoping for. Perhaps he was being too subtle, he wondered. Maybe a more direct approach would have a better chance of success…

‘Megan, it’s time I started my own coven. I have outgrown my current one. If I stay much long I will start to upset the balance of energies in the group. It wouldn’t be fair to remain and disrupt them.’

‘That sounds like a big undertaking on your own.’

‘It is…but then, I won’t be alone…I need a High Priestess…’

There was silence for a moment. Megan was closing her eyes and her facial expression remained passive.

‘I suppose you can’t just walk into a supermarket and ask for one,’ she joked, smiling.

James took a deep breath, and then said, ‘Megan, I want you to be my High Priestess.’

The silence returned, as Megan thought about what he was asking of her. She certainly had the knowledge and experience to co-run a coven; that wasn’t the issue. Something far more practical was standing in the way. ‘I don’t think I could work with all that energy, James. I’m sorry.’

‘What if I let you into a secret?’

‘What secret?’

‘How I deal with all the energy we raise inside a circle.’

‘I’m listening.’

James pulled at the small bag round his neck and took something out. It was a dull, grey lump of stone.

He handed it over to Megan; it was heavier than she had expected.  ‘Hematite? It’s a grounding stone.’

‘Yep. It’s my anchor, strengthening my connection to the earth, ensuring that I stay as grounded as I need to be.’

Megan inspected the stone closely, her hope rising. After all, if it worked for her like it did for James, could she really pass up such an amazing opportunity, one that might never come her way again?

34 thoughts on “Crystal Practicalities

  1. Hey Sammi,

    As my day fades in the gloaming, I couldn’t resist taking in one last blog post before Zzzz. Imagining a curious title with the allure of crystal would yield bountiful fruit, I headed to Sammi’s and was delighted by an intriguing short story wonderfully written 🙂

    Always in your writing, I find the sense of a building swell of some theme or some thing, which moves and shifts and constantly changes the interplay and relationships within the story….be that the mood, tempo, or emotion. Megan is an exciting character, and I enjoyed the relationship developing between her and James…it seems it is firmly established, and yet she retains her own powerful independence, which is her’s to develop far higher.

    Haematite was a fascinating choice, and a beautiful object to be near or touch. It is like a frozen globule of liquid mercury and perfectly weighted to be comfortable in the hand. It is dense and reassuring, yet with a texture like velvet. A grounding stone and a healing stone….one is significant within the other I think 🙂

    Thank you for an excellent late night read that leaves questions to dream on 🙂

    Namaste

    DN – 09/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin,

      I am continually amazed by the depth of the comments you are so generous to leave…Thank you – again 🙂

      I am glad you like Megan and James…I wonder what fate has in store for them…Megan is certainly interesting; strong, free-thinking, undaunted, understanding who she is and aware of the potential of who she could become. I suppose the question is whether James is the key to her unlocking and attaining it?

      Your thoughts on haematite were interesting to read. Thanks for sharing them. I find haematite is one of those stones that is often overlooked because it doesn’t sparkle…

      Brightest Blessings for the weekend 🙂

      Sammi

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Sammi,

    I wonder if you’ll pen an ode to Haematite as your thoughts focus on this story? She is a beautiful stone. I often think there’s something ‘other worldly’ or ‘extra-terrestrial’ about haematite, don’t you think? Mine is warming in my hand, so smooth… 🙂

    Namaste

    DN – 10/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I first wrote this story four years ago, I did actually write a poem about haematite…

      I do have a soft spot for haematite…I think it’s plainness hides its real qualities. Yes, definitely otherworldly…I try and keep a piece close by – I carry one in my handbag, with a few other stones 🙂 You call it a she? I have always thought of haematite as he, probably because of the qualities I associate with it.

      Have a great weekend,

      Sammi

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        Hoping your day has gifted you a smile 🙂

        Have you published your poem about Haematite, I’d like to read it sometime? Perhaps it reveals more of the hidden qualities that you personally associate with Haematite? Many websites and books suggest Haematite balances both female and male energies in harmony, whilst other find the abundance of iron within Haematite evidence of a prominent stabilising male element. Haematite’s tumbled, polished beauty is certainly sensuous, highly tactile, and compulsively alluring. Have you held it near candle flame and watched the reflection flicker?

        I am told Haematite was once called ‘blood-stone’ due to the rust red staining that appears when a deliberate cut or deep scratch is made into a piece of haematite. I think that quite thought-provoking in itself. 🙂

        Thanks for best wishes. Have a great weekend.

        Namaste

        DN – 11/07/2015

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Dewin,

        When the sun shines, there is always a reason to smile. So yes, my day has gifted me a smile. I hope yours has gifted you one. 🙂

        I haven’t published the haematite poem anywhere…it is…what’s the Welsh for ‘very bad’? So I couldn’t possibly post it anywhere without embarrassment, and besides, when I called it poem I was perhaps overstating its merits 🙂 It was for a different purpose, I suppose. It’s only redeeming quality is that it states quite plainly what I associate with it…

        I hope you don’t think I was calling your thoughts on haematite into question? I can now see why you referred to it as a she. You description has certainly made me look at haematite in a different light. I will have to try that with the stone and candle…

        Enjoy the rest of your weekend,

        Sammi

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        I awoke this morning to the smell of falling rain and a view across the city hidden within folds of low-lying cloud, all very reminiscent of autumn. It is still a day to smile upon, knowing the sun doesn’t stop shining beyond the clouds 🙂

        Poetry appears so generously giving to the practice of intention don’t you think? The manner in which it captures the distilled essence of a considered moment seemingly on impulse and explodes its form: dynamism within stillness. Elegant and timeless.

        As we have never read your poem, it could always be re-written, should the motivation arise, or be written anew with your current intentions in mind. One wonders what the exercise would produce, or how it might evolve a previous form? I admit to not always being a great advocate of returning to past pieces, yet I do sometimes sit and consider the relationship I had with an old image and enquire in what ways it might encourage further progress or develop a working method still further. I am far more flexible when returning to past writing. Words are an expedient method of expression and one can record a million moments in a few years, which in turn then provides instant material if one decides to return to significant moments and dwell upon them.

        I never once thought you questioning Sammi. On the contrary, I found your perspective encouraging, thank you 🙂

        As to the ‘other-worldly’ nature of Haematite…its inert radiance is beguiling: at once reflecting light upon its mirrored surface whilst simultaneously absorbing light into its density…it is as though Haematite is moulded by Pluto’s caress to specifically seek the light of day 🙂

        I hope you enjoy the candle flame in the stone. Have a wonderful Sun-day.

        Namaste

        DN – 12/07/2015

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Dewin,

        That’s a lovely picture you paint…autumn can’t come soon enough and although I appreciate the sunshine, I do prefer rain. I love the cold, and snow and frost and ice and rain…

        I am unsure what to do with my poem…it is what it is, maybe perfectly imperfect now but exactly what it needed to be when I penned it…whether I was to leave it as it is, or alter it, I am sure it would be unsuitable for posting here. Perhaps I shall leave the ode to haematite to you? Your words, I think, would do it a greater justice than mine. 🙂

        I tried the candle flame in the stone last night…it was a very peaceful, enlightening little exercise. And I now have a new surface for scrying – thank you. It would have never occurred to me had you not suggested it 🙂

        I hope you thoroughly enjoy the rest of your weekend,

        Sammi

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        I am a Virgo and hence born into the mouth of autumn at summer’s flaming end, but equally effected by the energies of all seasons. Sunshine is a wonder often lost amidst bedevilling climes in the UK, as such it has become habit to enjoy the seasonal year, and Autumn in particular is delirious with colour and pregnant with crisp air, clear skies, fresh mornings, damp laden fog, phantoms of mist clawing in spaces between spaces, and sunlight scything through clouds. It appears altogether contemptuous of winter’s approach, and I think of Autumn as a Bohemian: wild, free, undaunted, unravelled, uninhibited, unbounded and abandoned.

        Naturally, you will decide what to do with your poem, and perhaps even consider it has fully served its purpose and will be an item treasured for private viewing…I have a few of these items…words that were once consuming but which upon reflection feel awkward to re-read. I keep them as memories and snapshots of my life.

        Very pleased you found Haematite playful in candle glow. Have you heard of Apache-gold stone…it is another metallic based stone, and when highly polished warms wonderfully within the light of a gentle flame?

        Thank you, I hope I shall enjoy the remaining hours of freedom and delay the inevitable 9-5 until as late as possible 🙂 Have a wonderful night and continue to be inspired.

        Namaste

        DN – 12/07/2015

        Liked by 1 person

      • An ode to autumn…how beautiful. 🙂 Your gift with words is astounding. As I read them, I long for the changing seasons. Autumn cannot come quick enough. And your description of her (she is a she, isn’t she?) as Bohemian captures her essence completely.

        I’ve not come across Apache-gold stone before, though I will keep my eyes open for it now. It sounds magical 🙂

        I hope you have a great week,

        Sammi

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh no 😦 Define ‘happy ever-after ending’? Is Megan emotionally involved with James? Can she not live without him?

        The plot thickens in the ambient glow of an approaching evening…

        DN – 11/07/2015

        Liked by 1 person

      • Defining happy ever after…that’s harder than I thought it would be…I don’t suppose for Megan and James it’s as simple as getting married, starting a family and living happily ever after in their castle in the country 🙂

        I am not sure yet as to the exact nature of their relationship…I suppose I must see them becoming emotionally involved, but as Megan is a strong, undaunted character, I think the only reason she would struggle to live without him would be if he turned out to be her soul mate…

        As you can see, at present, I have absolutely no idea where this story is going… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Good morning Sammi,

    I hope sleep gifted you dreams 🙂

    Perhaps I had not anticipated such a traditional outlook for Megan and James? I cannot be certain of who your main protagonists actually are, or indeed in what context they find themselves, that is a mystery to me as a reader, and a fascination. Maybe, given my uncertainty, I was curious to know if James even existed at all, or would perhaps later be revealed as a recurring presence within her: a spiritual, emotional, psychological force of some description central to her unfolding? I admire her fierce independence and her undaunted strength of intent to expand beyond the stars, and yet I feel her tenderly yield to the gravity taking hold of her heart. Does she long to find her soul-mate?

    Namaste

    DN – 12/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Evening Dewin,

      I’m an Aquarius…I permanently live in my dreams 🙂

      I suppose I see much of the world through the prism of duality and so perhaps I see Megan needing James to balance out the magnitude of who she is…he could be the stabilising force required to keep her grounded… Doesn’t a part of everyone who has yet to find their soul-mate long to meet them?

      I hope you have been enjoying your Sunday,

      Blessings,

      Sammi

      Liked by 1 person

      • Good evening Sammi,

        How was your day? An Air sign…perhaps I should have guessed as much from the flight and elevation of your work 🙂

        Then I trust Megan and James continue to enjoy their wonderful union…they appear a balanced and harmonious team. Curious to ask…what element best grounds Air?

        You ask a fascinating question regarding soul-mates, or perhaps make a rhetorical statement regarding their inevitability. I think you are quite right to suggest that at some point we seek an intimate union on a deeply personal level with another and through their constancy and stability are able to more clearly define/establish a warm, safe place with a hearth. I imagine it can be a lonely old planet without a friend to write home to or burn a flame for.

        Thank you, I had an enjoyable Sunday, distinctly chilled and nutritiously filling – DVD re-run’s and bacon sandwiches 🙂 Not quite life in the fast lane but not a bad way to unwind for the week ahead either 🙂

        Namaste

        DN – 12/07/2015

        Liked by 1 person

      • My day was refreshing, thank you, and inspiring. Finished a short story, wrote a poem, took some photos…All-in-all, a good day 🙂

        As to what element best grounds Air…I haven’t a clue…my knowledge of astrology is not what it should be *gasp!*. All I know is that I am more or less a textbook definition of an Aquarian soul.

        I am glad you had an enjoyable Sunday. Who can argue with DVD re-runs? Well, I suppose it depends on the DVDs… 🙂

        Wishing you all the best for the week ahead,

        Sammi

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Sammi,

    Well now that does sound a fruitful day 🙂

    One wonders if Air could ever be grounded? Perhaps it can be contained temporarily, only for short periods just for long enough to snatch a breath of inspiration and flame the fire. The element of Air is the imagination’s aeronautical acrobat whose ephemeral form flies towards the warmth of a flame. Her sounding presence holds dominion over the life or death of a spark and yet her voice carries promise as silently as a whisper to arrive as sweetly as a kiss.

    A textbook Aquarian soul. I shall endeavour to remember 🙂

    I find a Sunday is often best enjoyed unhurried. I am a Breaking Bad fan…and guilty of indulging today in season 4…there remained a few unanswered questions stemming from fan’s forums that I needed to check out. What can I say? lol 🙂

    A fun little thought for the week ahead. Every day the Earth, and all those aboard Her, travel 1.598 million miles through space. By this time next weekend, we’d have travelled just over 11 million miles. Phew! No wonder we enjoy the weekend as we do. Happy travels fellow space traveller…may your passage this week be an inspired one!

    Namaste 🙂

    DN – 12/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin,

      Your thoughts on the element of Air are interesting to read, and as ever, poetic 🙂 I hope you are going to post all these poetic snippets that are currently gracing my comments section on your own blog some day – they deserve a far-wider appreciation and I think your readers will approve 🙂

      You know your science, don’t you. 🙂 That is a really cool fact. I feel exhausted just thinking about travelling that far. Happy travels fellow space traveller…you are so funny 🙂

      Have a blessing-filled week,

      Sammi

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        Thank you for kind thoughts. Perhaps I write what I do because you are inspiring Sammi…a breath of fresh air 🙂

        I hold a keen fascination and curiosity for science but it is not an interest with precedence over the numinous and/or unexplainable…it is more a complimentary part of life I think. My relationship with it can be ambivalent at times depending on my mood, or whilst urgency or interest has me pursue alternate goals.

        As for the marathon ride this week….also think of all the particles of off-world air blown into our atmosphere having travelled far further than you or I have in this lifetime just so it can be inhaled inside you and possibly change your entire life 🙂

        Sweet dreams for when you get there.

        Namaste

        DN – 12/07/2015

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Dewin,

        I think you write what you write because it is your gift and you are inspired from within rather than without 🙂

        Who knew that the air we breathe could be so fascinating…breathing is such a simple thing but this one thought makes it so special 🙂

        Hoping you have the best of weeks,

        Sammi

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey Sammi,

    I think you are far to generous, but thank you 🙂

    It’s the energetic exchange of ideas, thoughts and words that is inspiring, don’t you think…the shifting relationship between ‘object’ and ‘subject’ that begins with the energy you invest crafting your Blog and continues with a reader’s response before being expanded and perpetuated by numerous worded exchanges that build energy, focus words, distil thoughts, compress ideas and like a bottle of fizz finally pop a cork or two for a smile all round 🙂

    I love breathing often 🙂

    Namaste

    DN – 13/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s certainly been an inspiring conversation, one that has covered an eclectic mix of subjects. Hearing your thoughts on them has been interesting and fun. You have a unique perspective and a unique, poetic way of communicating it, not to mention a vast wealth of knowledge…I feel smarter for simply being part of the conversation, so thank you very much 🙂

      Oh, you love breathing often, do you? I suppose that’s lucky…I couldn’t live without it, myself 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        How are you? 🙂

        Yes indeed, it most certainly has been inspiring…your Blog IS an imaginative inspiration and highly engaging, your wonderful comments both charming and addictive 🙂

        The conversation has touched upon many areas, and that is delightful, thank you…it infers enjoyment, honesty, and interest, and encourages positivity and purpose. And if that encourages, or adds to the motivational energy pool, or sharpens the nib of the pen a little more then so much the better, right?

        I often enjoy the thought process between comments as much as the writing. Reflecting on an alternate perspective or sharing common similarities and building frameworks of understanding opens doorways to new creative possibilities whilst also reinforcing other ideas and considerations. Energetic exchanges are mirror moments, opportunities to reflect inside and outside in a creative way.

        🙂 I think we have both learnt from the conversation in interesting ways…the mysteries of ashen haze, cooling air, winter nights, strawberry ice-cream, ravens, rivers, rain, crows, Aquarius, feathers, breathing, Haematite, twilight, and darkness, may well have remained just that had I not had the good fortune to find your Blog 🙂

        Nice comeback 🙂 I’m very pleased you live and breath…or is it breathe and live? Either way, keep doing it, it seems to be working well for you…

        Namaste

        DN – 14/07/2015

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Dewin,

        I am fine, thank you for asking 🙂 I have just put the finishing touches to a moonstone and amethyst necklace that I made, so I am in a very happy place 🙂 And yourself?

        There have been plenty points to ponder during quiet times, many of which I have found enlightening and an aid to the creative process. Again, thank you 🙂 The list is quite extraordinary, although let’s not forget the wonder of the mango (just for clarification, I’m still not sold on the concept of mango ice cream…)

        I’m very pleased that I live and breathe too, and yes, it does seem to be working well…so far, so good 🙂

        Have a good night,

        Sammi

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        Those are two absolutely beautiful stones to thread upon your neck lace. Powerfully energising, protecting and stimulating…and Moonstone, ‘the stone of new beginnings’, or so they say. Will we get to see your wonderful creation 🙂

        I imagine being an Aquarius you have a highly inquisitive mind, and also a highly intuitive mine as well, and will be considerably influenced by the lightening flash inspiration of influential Uranus. So…perhaps that is why our conversation became expansive, you were constantly enlarging the horizons 🙂 Maybe you could include the wonder of mango ice-cream in that expansive outlook as well 🙂

        Thank you, my evening has been very pleasant..a mixture of listening to an audio book with a slice or two of YouTube in between, and writing a comment here and there on WP. Quiet and chilled…it’s a school night, I can’t be wild lol 🙂

        Thanks for your company. Sleep well when you get to Zzzzzz

        Namaste

        DN – 14/07/2015

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Dewin,

        Sorry for the delay in replying. I forgot to say that the main stone in the necklace is actually epidote, alongside the moonstone and amethyst. I had never heard that moonstone is the stone of new beginnings, but I like that. Very apt for now.

        Interesting explanation…makes sense, seeing as though I’m not usually a big chatter. I can be terribly anti-social (the down-side of being an Aquarius), though I much prefer to think of myself as a hermitess – it sounds much better 🙂 I have decided on a compromise: mango with raspberry ripple ice cream… 🙂

        Your evening sounded great…there is something quite endearing about audiobooks 🙂

        Have the best of evenings,

        Sammi

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Good evening Sammi,

    How are you?

    Please forgive a late reply to your response above.. Epidote was a stone I had to look up and was grateful for having done so. A wonderful stone indeed…I will have to keep an eye open for this. In terms of its union with the Moonstone and Amathyst, it forms a delightful grouping of interwoven and harmonious energies, so I’m very happy to hear your creation materialised at an apt time for you. Good luck whatever it may be 🙂

    I’m down with mixing the ice-cream, and think the ripple would be a sweet accompaniment for the golden mango…the melt of their colours would reveal a sunset. Let me know what you think 🙂

    Audiobooks have captured my imagination for the past couple of years and I cannot praise them enough. My online library is not large at around 40 books, but I have tried to be broad in my choices and encourage listening in new areas as well. My favourites are those read by ‘voices’ I recognise, yet all are professionally recorded and the artists have been superb. I was listening to Contact by Carl Sagan read by Jodie Foster the other evening. I remember the film, but the recording I find adds a new dimension to the experience. I enjoy the story very much, and appreciate Sagan’s work. I could rattle on and on about the many individual titles and their respective merits all evening. However, you are already a big fan, and I’d be very curious given your eclectic range of interests and curiosities the books that you enjoy and find something special in?

    I see you have posted a new title on your Blog….I will look forward to reading that shortly 🙂

    Thank you for thoughts of a pleasant evening. I trust yours will be an enjoyable one as well.

    Namaste

    DN – 18/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin,

      I am fine, thank you for asking. And yourself?

      I love epidote…it’s nice and earthy and reminds me of woodlands. I came across it on my endless quest for grounding…

      Of course. I will let you know as soon as I have tried it 🙂

      To be honest, when it comes to audio books, I have a very narrow interest – cosy mysteries and historical fiction. My favourites would have to be the Cadfael stories by Ellis Peters and read by Derek Jacobi, but then I love reading the books and watching re-runs of the TV adaptation too. When it comes to non-audio books, my interests are far broader…I’m always reading and my house is full to bursting with books 🙂 There is nothing better than getting lost in a good story.

      Enjoy the rest of your weekend. Wishing you the brightest blessings for the coming week 🙂

      Sammi

      Like

  7. Hey Sammi,

    I am very well thank you, although disappointed to be at the end of an enjoyable weekend. None-the-less, I have achieved certain goals and made headway in other ways as well. If that quantifies as ‘successful’ on any level, then yes, thank you the weekend has been enriching. I must ask how your weekend unfolded…has your necklace delivered upon its promise I wonder and been a successful ad rousing metaphor for timing and aptness? 🙂

    Sammi, I enjoy it so much when you write with passion about your interests…your words spill with the excitement of air lifting water against polished stone. It is a wonderful thing to see someone so alive with the pleasure of books and words. I do indeed recall the Cadfael series, a favourite of my parents at one time I believe and no doubt this is where I have viewed several episodes before. I imagine the books translate well to the audio medium with Jakobi’s distinct voice, although I confess to having never read more than a few chapters of a single book myself. Books are many things, least of all a tangible, sensual weight in the hand, and in this solidity a comfort as well as a wonder of words. I have a library at home that expands periodically to include whatever synchronicity deems appropriate…she is a purposeful and intentional harbinger of delight and focus, and books appear when the time is right. This is also one of the magical attributes of the written word…it retains an innate ability to travel and be read where it might best be served, or so I believe. And example being when people mete on WP and form friendships. You are also quite right….there is nothing better than being spellbound and captivated by a good story…a story so absorbing that we remain oblivious to the world continuing to turn about us whilst we hasten relentlessly towards the last page…

    I will leave you with a question. Feel free to answer it or not, it is a Monday challenge, a spell for you to cast and make certain of achieving. If your week ahead were to bring you one thing from a list of all that you desire, what would it be?

    Take care. Namaste 🙂

    DN – 19/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Evening Dewin,

      I hope you are well and you week has gotten off to a good start?

      Isn’t it sad when the weekend must end, but I am pleased to hear that yours was enriching – can anyone ask for more? I have been quite lucky as my weekend was extended to include today…a day full of blessings. I have had a picnic beneath an old oak tree and watched as rain moved along the river valley, I have seen buzzards and red kites and rainbows. Whether the necklace has delivered yet, I am unsure, but I am currently overwhelmed by an immense sense of gratitude for…well, everything 🙂

      I am glad that my love for books and reading is so apparent. I think when anyone writes about the things they love, the things that give meaning to life, their words naturally shine. I was fairly young when the Cadfael series first aired on the TV, but it is something that has stayed with me – I suppose that is why it became one of my favourites, one amongst many 🙂 I never asked, which is quite remiss of me, what is your favourite audio / non-audio book? I like that, that books appear when the time is right – it makes them sound even more magical 🙂

      That is a very interesting challenge…I wonder what inspired you to set it? Are you inspiring people all over WP to attain one of their dreams this week? As to whether I will answer it or not, I first would have to decide upon one…one to achieve within the week…that makes the task difficult. And, whether spell or not, can anyone really be certain of achieving anything but the attempt at attainment? You have most definitely got me thinking… 🙂

      Take care of yourself, and enjoy your week,

      Sammi

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey Sammi, good morning,

    The evening hands off to night far to quickly these days, but sitting with you beneath the broad bough and gazing up and out upon a miraculous world lifts the gloom of sleep and hands me off to Serenity’s feathered embrace, and I want to stay longer to enjoy your eloquent tale. Your day sounds inspired, a beautiful gift with every precious moment seemingly tailored for your individual eye. How fortunate to be so well thought of by a deeply loving universe. And how fortunate to have an extended weekend…perhaps the necklace has been bringing you all that you need ever since the clasp closed for the first time 🙂

    That just leaves all that you desire to be addressed and distilled into one drop. I don’t know what motivated the question, you know how passing thoughts seem to sometimes trickle into our stream of consciousness and make the ink flow in a different direction. But still, as a challenge I think it reasonable to look ahead and achieve a goal, make a decision, start a new venture, and initiate change or concretise intention. Desires might also include activities that initiate or perpetuate a course of action, but however orientated, I imagine on some level the smallest desire will generate a domino effect in whatever way it is intended. And if nothing else, it is an interesting way of helping to focus on intention and separating fact from fiction in heart and mind. How does one attain anything? What makes us certain of anything: is it knowing, intuiting, imagining, sensing, feeling? Is it what’s in our heart or in our soul, or is it something other? What motivates and propels us forward, what impulse drives us to desire? Or perhaps there is too much thinking and rolling the dice and seeing how the numbers come up is the most admirable thing to do? Who knows what desire really is and where it might take us if it were a lead?

    I would be hard pressed indeed to select one title from so many. Rather i shall settle on letting you know my last audio book was Andy Wehr’s The Martian, read by R.C Bray. One man’s struggle to last out on Mars until possible rescue arrives. I thought it sensational as an audio, the story immersive, clever, disorientating, and thrilling. Thoroughly recommend it. The last shop bought book…Lightship by Jim Burns published by Paper Tiger. Procured from a second-hand dealership in a town called Haye-on-Wye…I mention it only because it is known for staging an annual Welsh Literary Festival that is quite well known. Anyway, the town is festooned with second-hand dealers and coffee shops…what else go together so well, other than both and the addition of pubs and eateries and there are several to choose from…and it was from one of these that the book found me. I have a small collection of books on airbrush artists and figurative painters, and Jim Burns amazing imagination and cosmic view is very cool.

    Your fascination and imaginative use of words continues to fascinate me, as to the impulses and drivers that fashion your words. Discovering more within your writing adds depth and intrigue to your wonderful anthology. I wish I had far more time in the day to linger and enjoy it all a little further.

    Have a wondrous week attaining your desires 🙂

    Namaste Sammi

    DN – 21/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin,

      I hope you are well. You managed to capture my thoughts of an almost perfect day better than I did 🙂

      “That just leaves all that you desire to be addressed and distilled into one drop.” You make it sound so easy and simple, and dare I say it, attainable…
      Your thoughts on desire and intention are so interesting to read and you raise so many intriguing points…You have given me much to ponder on and think about. I am in awe of your philosophical reflections 🙂 Are you taking your own challenge, or is this something that you practise as part of your daily existence?

      The Martian does indeed sound like a fascinating story. Is there a booklover out there who has not heard of the wonders of Hay-on-Wye or the Hay Festival? 🙂 It is on my list of places to visit, though I believe it will be some time before I allow myself to go. I will need an immense level of willpower because I know I won’t want to go back home when the visit is over 🙂 And your description only makes me want to go there even more…

      I hope you enjoy the rest of your evening, and the rest of week,

      Sammi

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

