Rain on the River (a poem and photos)

We were sitting at the window, looking out over the branch of the river that passed under where we were sitting…sipping tea and eating cake (of course πŸ™‚ ) whilst watching the gentle shower outside turn into a ferocious downpour. Β I tried my best to capture it’s essence and rhythm, as well as what I could see from my vantage point…of course, my words could not do it justice, but it was spectacular to watch.

Β Water on water

Gently chiming

Delicate harmonies

Soft vibrations

Tender touch

Before changing tempo

And thundering noisily

Drumming forcefully

Surface rippling

Advancing crescendo

Cleansing

Purifying

Energising

Then it is over

Energy spent

And the waters still

Calm once more

10 thoughts on “Rain on the River (a poem and photos)

  1. Hey Sammi,

    Captivating.

    The delightful patter of your prose is captured perfectly by the mood of your photograph.

    There is something comfortingly homely about cake, tea, and looking out through a rain splashed window.

    Thank you for adding another polished jewel to the Sammi crown.

    Have a wonderful evening.

    Namaste

    DN – 14/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin,

      The photos are certainly the star of the post…not much can compete with the magic and simple beauty of flowering willowherbs and bindweed.

      I agree…tea + cake + rain-splashed window = homely πŸ™‚ The perfect cup of tea is one of the pleasures in life, and one I cannot do without. Thank heavens I know how to make the perfect cup πŸ™‚

      Yay! I have a crown…if only I could remember where I put it…

      I hope you enjoy your evening, and the rest of the week,

      Sammi

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        The perfect cup of tea? Oh, really? πŸ™‚

        I thought your poem and the photographs worked beautifully together, neither takes precedence over the other…together they are harmonious and balanced. And in that contented state there is a deep sense of warmth and cosiness and the comforting throws of something altogether homely…either that’s the sweeting influence of tea and cake or its the natural gentleness and delicate sensitivity of your expressive pen and camera? I found it a delightful trickle πŸ™‚

        Of course you have a crown. Why should you not?

        Have a wonderful evening Sammi πŸ™‚

        Namaste

        DN – 14/07/2015

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Dewin,

        Are you questioning my tea-making abilities?! And I thought you were my friend… πŸ™‚

        Thank you for the kind words about the poem and the photos…It’s nice to think that together you found them balanced. I had thought of them as separate and distinct rather than complimenting each other. It makes me feel better about the poem.

        I suppose we all each of us have a crown of our own, with a kingdom to rule…

        Wishing you the brightest blessings for the rest of the week,

        Sammi

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        I am a total heathen when it comes to making tea. Two bags, one cup, milk, 4 sugars, and a melted t-spoon lol πŸ™‚ I know, I know, don’t shout! πŸ™‚ Sorry.

        Regards your blog post..one can’t fully appreciate the essence of an entire flower by looking only at its individual petals.

        Indeed, we do each wear our own crown and rule as self-sovereign. The choices we make, we make for the realm over which we preside. I guess that should come with degrees of responsibility at some point πŸ™‚

        Brightest blessings, thank you. πŸ™‚

        Namaste

        DN – 14/07/2015

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Dewin,

        Don’t shout? I almost *died* reading that…and a melted teaspoon? Is this some alchemical recipe? πŸ™‚ lol

        Responsibilities…hmm…I think they’re for people that live in the real world…being a dreamer has its advantages πŸ™‚

        I hope what remains of your week brings more charm than chore,

        Sammi

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Good morning Sammi,

    Did you sleep well? I’m just making a cuppa, would you like one? πŸ™‚

    I wondered since you were a tea drinker if you’d think my brewing method destroyed a decent cup of tea, are you a purist with tea-pot and saucers etc.? In my defence, my ‘builders brew’ is a mighty fine pick-me-up first thing in the morning. The melted spoon is a wry attempt at humour, the tea being made strong enough to melt metal. I find the biggest weakness in the whole operation of tea-making is the strength of the t-spoon shaft. To often these days the elegant t-spoon is not designed to be used with compressive force or gusto – it really isn’t up to the job, and given a good dozen or so presses against the teabag and cup to extract a rich and fuller bodied flavour, the t-spoon usually snaps at the neck. A solution would be to reduce the pressure on the compression of the teabag….yet this either extends the time the bag is in the cup, and the period of time it takes to make the cup of tea, or it seems to reduce the heat of the water significantly. I have tried warming cup and spoon with hot water prior to tea-making, and this has brought some degree of success. My method of tea making is now, warming cup and spoon just prior to the kettle boiling: using two bags to speed up the brewing process by 50%, therefore maintaining heat in the water, and reducing the required pressure of the t-spoon on the bag by 50%. I am still deciding on how best to include the milk before the end of the process, but feel slightly reluctant to lose visual control of the strength of the tea by having its darkening colour hide within the whitening milk. Should you have an answer to this perplexing dilemma please let me know….

    I like your take on responsibilities, and wish I could forgo the inevitability of the 9-5 to pay the bills and keep my head above the water. My evenings are extended into the small hours to accommodate the living and dreaming part of the day, but it is a fine line between enjoyment and missing the alarm clock the following morning. Thankfully my body clock seems pretty reliable to wake between 6 and 7am on a week day, At weekends it seems to sleep when it wants πŸ™‚

    I’m sorry to have missed you last evening, I hope you had a relaxing few hours. Thank you for having replied here and elsewhere, the conversation is growing still more by the day.

    ‘More charm than chore’…how wonderful, thank you Sammi. And the same to you…”be lucky!” πŸ™‚

    Have a fantastic day. Take care.

    Namaste

    DN – 17/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin,

      Hmm…although I can cope with strong and sweet first thing in the morning, I get the impression that your particular brew should be politely declined πŸ™‚ It sounds like your mighty fine builders brew could revive the dead… lol

      That must be the longest essay I have ever read about tea-making and teaspoons πŸ™‚ Well, I freely admit that I can be particular about my tea. Am I purist? No – I will happily drink tea made with teabags. However, the china doesn’t come out that often…unless, of course, I am taking afternoon tea πŸ˜€ Have no fear, I got the joke. Rather than using a teaspoon, I wonder have you tried a pair of tea bag tongs? Of course, the most important question that I am left wondering after reading this: if you manage to cause so much damage to a teaspoon whilst making a cup of tea, how do the poor teabags fare? I cannot, not ever, add the milk until the teabag has been removed from the cup, so unfortunately I lack the knowledge to help you with your dilemma…I wish you the best of luck in finding the answer you seek πŸ™‚

      It’s just a shame that my take on responsibilities doesn’t have the ability to make them disappear into thin air. What are weekends for if not sleeping? πŸ™‚

      Have a great weekend,

      Sammi

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Sammi,

    Thank you, I hope you really enjoy your hours away from the daily grind as well. 48 sweet little hours when one can cast off the office garb, watch and phone and ease into something more comfortable for the weekend πŸ˜‰

    Somehow I knew there would be an element of china in you somewhere πŸ™‚ And afternoon-tea…how charming: crusts off the cucumber sarnies? Sugar cube tongs? A tiered cake ensemble loosening its hold on lace doilies? Absolutely delightful. I’m only teasing, but actually, every now again, it is a highly agreeable treat to add a little ceremony and panache to the whole tea drinking affair.

    Ah, the tea-bag tongs! It is a good suggestion, showing once again your lateral thinking, but sadly I’ll have to discount it as an option…the addition of another metal item into hot water removes the heat in the water when it is withdrawn. For now I will persist with the t-spoon. Thank you for the best wishes. To answer your question…there are ways of putting pressure on certain parts of a tea bag so as retain its integrity. However, since I use two bags, it isn’t a problem, one doesn’t need to squeeze two teabags quite so hard. the milk issue, we totally agree on πŸ™‚

    Take care. Namaste

    DN – 17/07/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin,

      I trust you are having the most perfect of weekends?

      Afternoon tea *is* charming…and yes, I do have sugar cube tongs, and cake stands and doilies…If you are going to do something, you might as well do it properly πŸ™‚

      Thank you for clearing up the tea bag issue…I did feel a pang of concern for the poor teabags πŸ™‚

      I hope the rest of your day is delightful πŸ™‚

      Sammi

      Like

Leave a Reply

