Look who came to see me today…

sparrowhawk 2I was so surprised to see this little fellow sitting on the front door step of my grandmother’s house…I guess he had heard about the great cups of tea I make πŸ˜‰

I quickly managed to snap a picture as I couldn’t quite believe my eyes. Β After checking (from a distance) that it wasn’t hurt or injured, I wondered what it was doing there. A little bit of research suggested that this young sparrowhawk might have been taking one of its first lone flights, so it might have been having a little rest as it gets used to those strong, powerful wings…And just in case anyone was wondering, it’s fine and has flown away.

How lucky do I feel? πŸ™‚ Β IΒ think I might have found the next Monday Inspiration photo…or rather, it found me… πŸ™‚

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

15 thoughts on “Look who came to see me today…

  1. Lovely picture! I live in an area with a high buzzard population, people take them for granted but not being from here, I still marvel at their high-pitched calls and feel slightly like I’m in a wildlife documentary when I see one swoop on a rabbit. Sometimes I see young ones a little closer up than usual, especially if it is windy, but never in time to get a picture! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for stopping by and commenting πŸ™‚
      Buzzards are lovely – how amazing to see the younger ones!
      I was pretty sure that by the time I took my camera out of my handbag the sparrowhawk would have gone, but it just sat there posing. I think it might have been vain as after I took the picture above, it turned so I could get a side profile too!
      Enjoy the rest of your weekend πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Sammi,

    Hoping the weekend following your encounter with this incredible aeronautical wizard is going swimmingly.

    I know you’ll appreciate already how incredibly fortuitous it is to be blessed with a visit from Apollo’s messenger to your grandmother’s door. Or perhaps you see the Hawk as a Valkyerie and associate it with the Goddess? Either way…how wonderfully gifted you were. I get to stand and watch the doves, ravens, crows, the acrobatic winged, soaring wonders of seagulls, and as dusk approaches bursts of shooting starlings. And if lucky, on occasion an Owl comes to visit and watch over the night with me…she was here the other evening. But I’ve never have had Hawk pay a house-call. It seems you have been chosen…

    I can fully understand how your fabled tea-making would have encouraged a house-call, but still I’m a little curious to ask, what your thoughts are on interpreting the nature of this visit? πŸ™‚

    I did a little digging, and came away with a list of symbolic attributes often associated with the Hawk, and thought I’d leave them here for you. It’s a superb list although in no way definitive, there is always room to add far more…Vision, Power, Energy, Rebirth, Strategy, Intensity, Attention, Protection, Teamwork, Intelligence, and Concentration! One wonders what you will do with all that has been gifted to you? πŸ™‚

    Enjoy your weekend Sammi Cox.

    Namaste

    DN – 16/08/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your comment, Dewin πŸ™‚ I have had an enlightening weekend, thank you, and I feel very blessed indeed at this chance and unexpected encounter. I hope your weekend has been pleasant?

      I see the hawk in many ways, though recently it has been perched on the arm of Cernunnos…

      An owl – how wonderful! I bet she is great company and a comforting presence. Owls are such amazingly beautiful birds. But your other birds are also lovely…the universal gentleness and peace of the dove, the transformative and transcendent qualities of the crow and raven…I wonder what attributes are associated with seagulls and starlings?

      So you don’t think it showed up just for the tea? πŸ™‚ lol I must confess that as yet I am unsure how to interpret its appearance…I will need to ponder it a little more. I think I am still surprised by it…but…well, it feels extraordinarily exciting πŸ™‚

      Thank you for the list…there’s so much for me to think about there. One attribute certainly sticks out above the others…Concentration. How apt! But the others are interesting indeed…teamwork – I would never have guessed that one and it makes me wonder.

      Have a great week, Dewin, and Brightest Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Sammi,

    Nature moves in mysterious ways, or at least it seems that Cernunnos does for you…such a powerful ally as Summer approaches, and such a beautiful gift πŸ™‚ Happy to hear you have his blessing….the materialisation of his Hawk at this time takes your visions to a whole new level perhaps? Tell me, have you ever seen he Pillar of the Boatmen…I know of it only through discussion with a friend.

    My weekend has been pleasant thank you…more a chance to unwind than having been productive per se. It has been a long two or three weeks to arrive at this point, and I am feeling a little jaded still…I get too involved. But I’ve a little time off work coming soon, September and will hope to make use of it wisely. Who knows what plans may come about.

    The greatness of birds never ceases to amaze me. I spend hours enthralled in their company, just watching them fly. I get the feeling sometimes that in a similar way that we will feel the slightest breeze on a single hair, so to they must feel the slightest movement in every barb in every feather to the point where there is no differentiation between feather and air, only a harmonious and symbiotic union. I want to imagine how it must feel to experience the flow and movement of space passing through and around you whilst being weightless and carried airborne. Sammi, I would love to be able to fly! Wouldn’t we all?! πŸ™‚

    The birds that bless my open view are magical in themselves, and I cherish their company. As to the Owl who sits to guide me through the darkest hours before dawn. I have had to look up seagull and starling symbolism but came away with: Freedom, Adaptation, Communication,
    Opportunistic, and Resourcefulness. The clear suggestion is that when seagulls soar into our consciousness, it might be a sign to break out of the same, boring routing. It might be time to fly high, show the world our potential, and dare to be free from what the world expects us to be. Sounds intriguing πŸ™‚

    I hope you ponder the reason for your visitor and come away with understanding. It seems so very timely and appropriate or else it wouldn’t have happened at all πŸ™‚ Just one question….was there cake with the tea because that might offer a more plausible reason than chance alone πŸ˜€

    Teamwork does sort of stand out as an anomaly in the list of attributes, so I wonder what you are wondering about that? Fascinated to hear more πŸ™‚ As for concentration…yes indeed, I think many of us could do with a bit more of that sufficient to rise above the daily grind and still leave a broad smile.

    I’ll keep fingers crossed your new friend will call again and bring a message of Light and Love to your door πŸ™‚

    Nos da. Breuddwydion melys. Ms Cox

    Namaste

    DN – 16/08/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good evening Dewin. I hope you are well and your week is off to a nice, bright start. Your September break sounds promising and is certainly something to look forward to – fingers crossed you will fill it with fun πŸ™‚

      Funnily enough, something I read over the weekend mentioned the pillar of the boatmen, which I must admit was the first time I had come across it, so for you to mention it too is a little spark of serendipity πŸ™‚

      Your passion for flight is clearly evident in your words, as is your respect for birds, and how the two both move you. It is a joy to read words that another has shared which are so full of enthusiasm πŸ™‚ The symbolism behind the seagull and the starling are very interesting indeed, especially the seagull. So is now the time for you to fly high and show the world your potential? How exciting!

      There is always cake…or cookies! πŸ˜€

      Not very fascinating, I’m afraid…When I first saw teamwork on the list, two things came to mind, both of which are on my writing dreams/goal list. The first is definitely the more mundane of the two – to find a writing buddy or writing group, but I do have reservations about this. The second is much more interesting – to me at any rate…I like the idea of trying my hand at collaborative writing, whether it is in the form of co-authoring a novel or a collection of flash fiction or poetry. On the other hand, I could have got this very wrong and teamwork might not be applicable to me at all, or in this way…

      Thank you. However, I have the feeling that it won’t call again, but sometimes once is enough. πŸ™‚

      Have a great week Dewin, and Brightest Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Good evening Sammi πŸ™‚

    Yes indeed Monday is done and dusted and the new week already a day old….just 3 more days to go and then the prospect of a long weekend including next Monday as well! Yeah! Nothing planned per se, so it’s a blank canvas upon which to make a mark and declare it a celebration πŸ˜€ September is a whole week and a half away from the grind yet will feel like a month lol πŸ™‚ It the first full week I have had off work for close on 5 years….I mainly do long weekends to and from the Home Counties to better facilitate family obligations…so 10 days is absolute heaven, and I just can’t wait! Maybe i’ll do a little travelling anyway, or have a mini adventure of some sort to help cure the insanity. Keep fingers crossed that my time will be bountiful and rewarding.

    Tell me, how was Monday for you Sammi? Did the day go well, and are you glad it is over?

    I like it when Serendipity and her sister Synchronicity, my two favourite muses, pay a brief visit and leave a little thread hanging somewhere just waiting to be pulled to amuse and inspire. Let me know what happens when the thread is pulled…perhaps there are more secrets to Cernunnos than at first meets your eye? There is magic and mystery in his presence in your life, a force of nature which you seem able to so easily sense, utilise and harness. And I am still in awe at the Hawk calling in on you….it is a fabulous sign. But perhaps you are right, and maybe Hawk will only visit once and leave you his message, so I hope you are thinking carefully about what was said to you? πŸ™‚ (Perhaps the next visito you have will be Cernunnos himself?! You never know πŸ™‚ )

    Always cake and/or cookies! Really? Then I’ll run faster to get a seat at your table before all the treats disappear. And tea? Don’t forget the tea, nor keeping a small space by the fire πŸ™‚ lol

    All my life I have wanted to fly and soar high above this world of solidity and density and weight. It is the freedom and liberation that being able to fly would bring: a sense of elevated awareness that comes with a panoramic view and a choir of heavenly angels. I guess one day I will get my wish anyway and find flighty form as a gentle breeze or passing cloud, either would be fine πŸ™‚ But am I ready to be a Seagull? You may well ask? lol I guess I have collected enough feathers of late to have a full set of wings, and indeed, I have been gifted tail feathers of late as well…the mechanism for steering in the correct direction. My latest find…and it is exquisite is a Magpie tail feather cast in the most delicious emerald green, aqua-marine and tipped in violet and purple. It is stunning and takes pride of place in the collection. As to Magpie symbolism… Opportunistic, Intellect, Perceptive, Flashy, Refined, Communicative, Social, Illusion, Expressive, and Wilfulness. Not a bad list of attributes to help steer the flight-path a little better. What say you? πŸ™‚

    Team work. Hmm. I had not anticipated your reply to this question being about involvement, and sharing your skill and craft. and yet as I read your words, it strikes me that you already been giving your idea, or possible intentions some clear thought already. Would you benefit from a writing class or writing group as you describe it? If so why might that inspire you further? You second option feels more keenly edged, sharper and more defined. I really like the sound of your ideal vision Sammi and the reach of your challenging objective. the way you have phrased your words…it sounds like an intention rather than a plan. How would you propose going about collaboratively writing? And a novel as well? These are big ideas, grand ideas, sky-reaching ideas…and I love the sound of each of them as it shines out from the enthusiasm in your heart. Perhaps such ideas come about when you go airborne and fly off with that elemental mind of yours…just how high do you soar Sammi, and what do you see from your elevated vantage point when you look down on this emerald jewel? I wonder which choice you will decide upon, and who you might collaborate with. These sound like very exciting times πŸ™‚

    Namaste

    DN – 17/08/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin, Your break sounds long overdue! My fingers are most firmly crossed in favour of the bountiful and the rewarding!

      I am still in awe of the hawk too πŸ™‚ If I hadn’t manage to snatch a photo I doubt I would have believed it and I certainly wouldn’t have expected anyone else too!

      Cake and/or cookies, tea and a small space by the fire? Demanding much? lol πŸ™‚

      I imagine being a cloud and having the ability to change shape might be quite interesting indeed…Your feather collection sounds amazing, especially the magpie feather. A beautiful gift from a very generous bird. You are very lucky πŸ™‚ There is something quite remarkable in the shiny iridescence of a magpie feather. And your list of magpie attributes only adds to the richness of the gift πŸ™‚

      I worry about writing classes and the like, because I don’t necessarily want them to change the way I write, but my punctuation and grammar requires serious improvement! (If you can’t tell!) πŸ™‚ And how would I propose going about collaboratively writing – hmm…I suppose I first would have to finding anyone who would be interested, which seems an almost insurmountable issue itself. After that, I would probably encourage the other person / people involved to choose whether they wanted to focus on writing a novel, flash fiction or poetry as I would just be so ecstatic for the opportunity to give it a go. I think the chance to bounce ideas off another like-minded creative soul and work with them to forge something that has the potential to be amazing…well it sounds exciting and when I think of it I imagine lots of scribbling in a pub – a little too idealised perhaps! πŸ™‚ Realistically, I guess it would probably be done via email…

      Thank you for all your kind comments, especially the ones from this evening. I seem to be falling behind with them, but I promise I will respond to them when I am a lot less sleepy – I have a feeling that this comment is full of nonsensical ramblings and I would hate to think how much worse it might get πŸ™‚

      Take care Dewin, and Brightest Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Good evening Ms Cox, published author aspiring πŸ™‚

    Hoping all is well in your little slice of heaven. How was your Wednesday, Oden’s Day? I imagine it was as soggy and humid for you as it certainly was for me. And what a day to forget the umbrella, doh! Wet twice through in one day is never pleasant.

    Thank you for the best wishes regarding my annual leave from work and the unknown potentials and promises it might hold. I hope for great things, fun things, fantastic weather, and fulfilment in all ways! Or is that a little to demanding of our benevolent universe I wonder? πŸ™‚

    No feathers this morning, but in its stead a cherished moment shared with an inner voice whilst sat gazing at an expansive sky from the window of a moving train. I’ve taken to reading a Ladinsky’s collection of Sufi and Persian poetry on my commute to work and have grown to love the beauty in their insightful words and the exquisite nature of their impassioned hearts. (I also store my favourite feathered finds in the book…the two somehow were born to be as one. There comes a point in the journey when there is a break in the bush and scrub that line the embankments, a short 45 seconds during which my view from the window suddenly seems to stretch outwards and upwards towards a dissolving horizon and the infinity that lies beyond. Each time I pass this spot, I am moved in ways that I do not always understand yet accept with an open heart that fills to sometimes spill a small tear of happiness. On days like this morning, such a wonderful feeling stays with me for the duration and occasionally concludes in a chance encounter or an extra special find. Today however was all about sharing happiness and smiles and enjoying the warmth of work mates and colleagues, and that in itself was priceless.

    Writing classes and the like present opportunity as well as uncertainty. You have a strong voice with your writing already and a style that is uniquely yours. If the opportunity were there to enhance your natural gift and ability by helping to polish your words still further, why would you not accept such an offer? In addition, there is also the chance possibility of striking up a friendship with someone with whom you might share your novel vision and collaborative goals? However, I am also a very firm believer in self-education should the will and determination demand it. I do not think that grammar and punctuation have an importance when drafting work other than to slow down the process of actually writing of course. And besides that is what an editor is supposed to do right, or have times changed that significantly that a publisher now demands a print ready copy? πŸ™‚

    And so on to the perplexing problem of finding an interested party with whom you might wish to write, share ideas with, or simply use as a bouncing board for the discussion of ideas. It is certainly very tempting indeed to put my name forward, and yet I know so little of your ideas, intentions and plans, topics which are not really suitable for discussion here. So i’ll leave it up to you to decide whether you’d like to explore these possibilities further Sammi. I will not be offended in the slightest should you decide otherwise. My email address is dewin.nefol@gmail.com πŸ™‚

    Thank you for all your replies…it now seems that I have fallen a little behind with my replies! I will of course catch up πŸ™‚

    Well, it’s 11.30 and time for my beauty sleep, and boy, do I need it lol πŸ™‚ I’m feeling a little jaded this evening after a busy day and despite knowing tomorrow is my Friday I should head of Zzzzzzzzz. I’ve got into the habit lately of avoiding sleeping in the bedroom and now deposit myself anywhere around the flat that happens to take my fancy as a bed for the night. If there is floor space large enough to contain me and the duvet, or a sofa long enough to stretch out on, then Dewin is a happy bunny. Sometimes when my mind is over active following a very busy day I find I just can’t sleep properly in bed, and the floor or couch become far better alternatives. Not sure why I do this, perhaps it’s because I feel less contained or restricted and more in tune with my mood, or perhaps it is because for years I chose not to have a bed at all and the habit is a difficult one to shake off. Either way, I still get a great night’s sleep, and realistically, that is all that really matters.

    And so, i’ll bid thee a good night Sammi, and leave you in the pleasant company of the Sandman to lull you with his dream-dust. Have a fantastic Thursday, Thors Day, and enjoy hammer time…’you can’t touch this!’ lol πŸ™‚

    Namaste

    DN – 19/08/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good evening Dewin,

      Odin wasn’t too bad yesterday, however, Thor has been causing me much havoc today. I’m hoping that Frige will play nice tomorrow πŸ™‚ “…enjoy hammer time…’you can’t touch this!'” had me giggling for ages! πŸ™‚ You’re so funny…

      You might be asking for a bit much – especially when thinking about the weather we have had so far this summer. And yet on the other hand, if you don’t ask, you don’t get. Hopefully the universe is listening and taking note… πŸ™‚

      Your journey to work yesterday sounded amazing – no wonder you had such an enjoyable day, filled with enjoyable company. Who can wish for more? A favourite book – especially a book of poetry – is definitely a fitting home for a feather or even a flock of feathers πŸ™‚

      That sounds very sensible. I will try to organise my thoughts over the next few days and then send you an email. πŸ™‚

      This week is really turning out to be one full of energy, excitement and movement, perhaps brought about my good friend the hawk… πŸ™‚

      Enjoy the rest of your week, and your weekend Dewin. Brightest Blessings πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Good evening Sammi C πŸ™‚

    Gandalf once remarked that a good wizard arrives when it is intended, but still I feel a little late getting here this evening. If I had a plausible excuse I could muster then I’d be expressing it with earnest. As it is I am without reason, but not without purpose, but apologies all the same for a slightly tardy response to your reply. πŸ™‚

    A troubling Thor doesn’t sound good…I hope it was slight inconvenience rather than a drama precipitating conflict? Did Frige bring you warmth and comfort and a little help to knock out the dents of Thor’s wayward strike? How was your day? Perhaps in time, Thor’s involvement will actually prove serendipitous and timely? I’ll hope for the latter πŸ™‚ Certainly your last comment…’This week is really turning out to be one full of energy, excitement and movement, perhaps brought about my good friend the hawk…’ has me believe that great things, energising things, and elevating things are happening…the excitement is almost palpable. Hawk MUST have chosen you with great care.

    Very pleased indeed to hear of your impending email! πŸ˜€ I was just agreeing with a wonderful friend how enchanting this week had been, and how in so many ways, the magic has been slowly, slowly building towards this weekend. We are all benefiting I think from some remarkable event that has yet to fully reveal itself, but which has begun to emerge already in so many people’s lives. A sense of certainty, clarity, and vision…gifts that will shape and define the immediate future and align all those involved with a greater purpose and a more rewarding future. From my own perspective, I am under the influence of Jupiter whose path through my Zodiac is bringing me expansion, possibility, potential, and many wonderful moments full of pleasing serendipity and surprising synchronicity. Paths are being laid and doors are opening more widely now that our hands are upon the handle. I imagine you feel these things as well Sammi?

    My day has been very restful, a long lay in this morning and an afternoon spent reading and listening to beautiful words… perfect medicine for a few days away from the 9-5. And curiously, it was not without a feather either, even though I didn’t cross the wooded heath today. Beneath the roof of my flat, hidden in the eaves are several bird families, although I am not entirely certain of the bird type. They come and go at their leisure of course, but do so immediately above a three bay-window, which is always open as I like the fresh air during the warmer months and the feeling of having a little of the outside, inside. The feathers are small, fluffy, and delicate and blow in through the window to share a space with me. I am always concerned that one day one of the birds will miss their entry point under the eaves and pay a house call, but it has yet to happen. They are far to intelligent to make such an error of judgement. Instead, I am regularly joined by Bees, Spiders, and Moths and even had a Dragon Fly pop in for a moment as well. They are always welcome, although the spiders are a little scary despite their miniscule size lol. I like them here…they are Lunar symbols symbolically associated with the weaving of human destiny and therefore with divination. As attributes of Moon Goddesses, they are emblematic of culture heroines or demiurge creators of the world. Folklore associates the spider with good luck, wealth and prosperity…a symbolism that is perhaps associated with their ability to descend and ascend on invisible threads emblematically bringing heavenly gifts. These past few weeks have brought many gifts, including your friendship Sammi and the possibility of opportunity as well πŸ™‚

    These are exciting times aren’t they?

    We seem to always wish the other an enjoyable evening and a wonderful week ahead. Perhaps those wishes have all helped to make the evenings smile a little more as well. πŸ™‚

    Namaste

    DN – 21/08/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good evening Dewin,

      Well, Gandalf is always right, and so you cannot have been late, not even a little. You arrived exactly when you were supposed to πŸ™‚

      “Hawk MUST have chosen you with great care.” Thank you for saying so. However, I rather think that if he knew how easily overwhelmed I could get by his sudden appearance he might have chosen to visit elsewhere πŸ™‚ lol

      The impending email will definitely be with you by the end of the day! πŸ™‚

      “Paths are being laid…” that is the most fitting way of describing it that I have ever come across. I find that doors opening and closing speaks of more immediate and tangible manifestation, but the unlaid path sounds more ambiguous, mysterious and is revealed a little at a time…like destiny and fate and the future. Indeed, it would be hard not to pick up on this building magic.

      Your Friday sounded very restful, and your flat sounds very much like an eyrie – how wonderful! And to have feathers delivered to your door! Magic! πŸ˜€ Spiders…hmm…they absolutely terrify me but I would never dare hurt one; they are too precious. One way I have tried to get over my fear of them is by giving them names lol It sort of works and I find that I do miss them when they’ve gone. I find their webs on the other hand so very fascinating, and when the winter comes and they are encrusted with frost I can stare at them for ages, lost in their power of creativity as well as interconnection. Your thoughts on spider symbolism are interesting to read; the connection between the spider and divination is one I have overlooked, so thank you for pointing it out. I shall remember the dear spider when I next get out my tarot cards πŸ™‚

      These are indeed terribly exciting times, and who can know what will come from them? The air is certainly filled with possibility…

      I don’t doubt for a second that well-wishing raises positive energy and manifests good things πŸ™‚ And so to continue on with it…Wishing you a great rest of the weekend Dewin, and a great week ahead πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. (Self-empowerment) “Gandalf? Oh yes. That’s what they used to call me. Gandalf the Grey. That was my name.” “I am Dewin the White. And I come back to you now, at the turn of the tide.” lol πŸ˜€ (Note to self: change the colour of my Blog header lol)

    The clock strikes midnight as I sit to type the first line…

    Good morning Sammi πŸ™‚

    Thank you for having replied…I do so enjoy our conversational exchange and thoroughly look forward to its continuation. I feel a genuine warmth and purpose for doing so, and appreciate the growing friendship and trust that is born from within the honesty of words πŸ™‚

    Whilst you may have degrees of apprehension and find yourself currently overwhelmed by Apollo’s Hawk (in the nicest way imaginable I hope!) the laughter at the end of that sentence is reservedly assuring and most definitely affirming of both the emotional support and encouragement you now have at your disposal. Hawk would not have made an error of judgement in selecting you πŸ™‚

    I do of course look forward to receiving your email and hold my breath in anticipation of its imminent arrival and the explosive content enclosed therein. Awesome! πŸ™‚

    Your further delineation of ‘paths being laid’ is superb πŸ™‚ I adore the mystery at its heart and relish the ambiguity of its subtle reveal. I also get the distinct impression you are all but ready and packed and eager to roll with the cavalcade as the circus of life pulls slowly away en route to the next enchanting show. Don’t forget your toothbrush…or is it possible that where you intend to go, you won’t need your toothbrush at all! lol πŸ™‚

    My eyrie! πŸ˜€ Wonderful! lol How I enjoyed that! I’ve never considered Bryn Myrddin an eyrie before, but now you have planted that thought it would difficult not to embrace it as a possibility. Brynn Myrddin, Merlin’s Hill ( πŸ™‚ ) has associations with my family’s ancestral past, one time owners, or so I have found in research, of a house with views towards the (alleged) resting place of Merlin. It is a name I have plucked from the annals of time and given a new lease of life to (I hope!). Regrettably, I do not own my flat, and was understandably a little disappointed when the landlord and property management company refused to stencil the name on my door when last the decorators visited to paint the interior of the building earlier this year. But never mind…. the name remains in my imagination and that is all that matters. πŸ™‚

    I too share your delightful thoughts on spiders, and confess to regressing to a 3 year old in their presence, especially the bigger household spiders which move with mercurial speed and seem readily able to find escape routes where none should truly exist! Indeed they are precious, as are all living things, and I’d not hurt one deliberately regardless of their scurrying, dangling, wall-hugging, and pillow creeping ways lol πŸ™‚ The kindness and warmth you shower upon them is heartening, and your naming of them an adorable consideration on your part as well. I imagine it helps diffuse the terror somewhat, but only a little right? lol πŸ™‚ I am not certain where my own discomfort with spiders originates, but I distinctly recall watching an episode of Dr Who many years ago that featured the Earth being plagued by a race of huge, intelligent spiders that were somehow able to absorb themselves into a human body. I confess to watching most of the show from behind the sofa with my back against the wall and a tasselled pillow as my only line of defence should one of them have escaped the T.V and come raging towards me in the living room! Well, at 6 years old, absolutely anything is possible lol πŸ˜€

    Quick question: Should Shelob (Lord of the Rings) and Aragog the Acromantula (Harry Potter) meet in mortal combat, who would win? πŸ™‚

    Your musings on spider’s webs borders on the poetic and is quite charming. Indeed the web is a fascinating structure to behold; whether seen glinting in sunlight and laden with dew, or encrusted with frosted jewels (beautiful) they mesmerise with their refined complexity and fascinating allure. You must read ‘A Noiseless Patient Spider’ by Walt Whitman, it is a wondrous poem, and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. (http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/174741)

    ‘These are indeed terribly exciting times, and who can know what will come from them? The air is certainly filled with possibility…’ So tell me, what do the Tarot Cards reveal to your seeing eye? πŸ™‚

    The energy is these best wishes and blessings for a wonderful week is almost palpable. I can all but taste the sweetness of an ethereal promise just waiting to be savoured. Good things are coming to all who might seek improvement in situation, circumstance and ‘state’ of mind. Happy, happy days to look forward to for one and all…

    Have a wonderful week Sammi C πŸ˜€

    Namaste

    DN – 24/08/2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Evening Dewin the White πŸ˜€ lol

      As we have said before, the conversation has been (and still is) enriching and enjoyable, and has certainly brought with it a sense of illumination and inspiration as well as plenty of smiles. It has been fun, and I have appreciated it as much as the hawk and the butterfly πŸ™‚ Thank you πŸ™‚

      I can’t imagine anywhere I would go without my toothbrush! lol

      How perfectly fitting an association for you! πŸ™‚ As you say, as long as you know, what else matters? After all, you alone appreciate it’s connection to your past and the meaning behind it, and it’s that which makes it special.

      Thank you, but if you hadn’t mentioned ‘paths being laid’ first, I doubt that the thought would have struck me πŸ™‚ So thank you for being the messenger of realisation πŸ™‚

      Why do spiders like crawling over pillows?! It’s baffling! My problem with spiders reached a peak when I was about 12 and on a family holiday. We were staying in this old house and I woke one morning to find the biggest brown spider I had ever seen sitting on the pillow a few inches away from my face! I just opened my eyes and there is was…Just thinking about it still freaks me out…naming that one would not have helped. In truth, giving them names only really works if they are on the outside of the window or in a corner of (a different) room and far away from me. The names also have to be quite silly πŸ™‚ That episode of Dr Who does not sound like enjoyable TV watching! No wonder you were behind the sofa!

      In answer to the Shelob versus Aragog question…my knowledge of Harry Potter is somewhat lacking (I have only read the books a couple of times and watched the films about the same number) in comparison to my knowledge of The Lord of the Rings (which along with the Hobbit, I have been obsessed with since I was about 9 or 10). And so I would have to conclude that Shelob would win, purely on the basis that she still terrifies me nearly 25 years later!

      Thank you for the link to the poem. I very much enjoyed it – I read it over and over…the words make me appreciate the spider, her web and the symbolism to be found therein even more. πŸ™‚

      Well, the tarot cards have been revealing much excitement…The Star has been making herself known over the past couple of days, telling of a positive, creative period, where a little faith will lead to wish-fulfilment. Also The Magician (you have all that you need to bring into creation that which you wish to see) and The Empress (a time of rich growth and the reaping of what has been sown) have also made more than one appearance. Is the tarot an interest of yours?

      Have a great evening Dewin, and Brightest Blessings for the week ahead! πŸ˜€

      Like

  8. Pingback: Making Friends | Sammi Cox

Leave a Reply

