Fighting Fate

jackdaw2

I know it is pointless

To purposely swim

Against the current

To waste time and energy

In pursuit of that

Which is not yours to have

And yet I struggle on

Fighting fate at every turn

Arguing with destiny

As if I know better

As if I can see further

As if I understand more

Of what was, is and will be

When in actual fact

My vision is limited

My knowledge bound

By desire

Of what I want

Not what I need

Not what I am entitled to

In the hope that

Wishes might come true

Dreams might manifest

Fantasy might become reality

So that for once

The world will be

As I have always seen it

jackdaw1

About the photos:

After penning the poem this morning, I wondered what picture I could find to accompany it, when I spotted this jackdaw from my window.  Jackdaws, along with crows and ravens were once believed to be messengers of fate…very apt, thought I…

As to the poor quality of the photos…The pictures might have been better had I not taken them looking out of the window.  Equally, had not one of my cats decided to play a game of try-to-catch-the-camera-strap each time I pressed the button to take a picture, they might have come out better.  Yes, that’s right.  I am blaming the cat.  It’s all on you, Khepri! 🙂

One thought on “Fighting Fate

  1. Pingback: Making Friends | Sammi Cox

Leave a Reply

