Visiting Shrewsbury

Shrewsbury, to my mind, is one of the most inspiring towns in England, and as such, is one I often find myself visiting.  One of the reasons I love Shrewsbury, as those of you who read my book review blog will know, is because of Brother Cadfael 🙂  However, it is also has a number of impressive churches.  Four of the five photos below are of St Mary’s, now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.  In the fifth photo, taken from beneath the bridge next to the imposing railway station, the church-like building at the top of the photograph is in fact the town library.

My favourite photo of the weekend has to be the little monster found perched on the outside of St Mary’s…isn’t he adorable? 🙂  I have a soft spot for demons, especially grotesques, gargoyles and imps…

Hoping you all had a good weekend,

Sammi

4 thoughts on “Visiting Shrewsbury

Leave a Reply

