So, I’ve had my first poem published! (and a short story too)

The title of this post says it all really.  I’ve had my first poem published. Yay!  As you can imagine I’m very excited about this.  It’s not often that I share my poetry, and this was the first time I actually submitted any to be read and published beyond my blog!

stone mask

Picture credit: Wikipedia

The poem, Behind the Mask, and the short story, Excavating Fate, were submitted to the latest issue of Free Lit Magazine which has just been released.  The theme for this issue was “masks”.

Excavating Fate tells of the unearthing of a mask on an archaeological dig.  It’s an unexpected find, and as those on the trip try and determine its intended purpose, the one who excavated it finds their connection to it is stronger than most.  But why?

You can read Excavating Fate and Behind the Mask, as well as all the other great poems and stories, here.  I hope you enjoy them!  And don’t forget if you do have read, let me know what you think!

Wishing you all the Brightest Blessings for the week ahead!

7 thoughts on “So, I’ve had my first poem published! (and a short story too)

  1. For a minute there, I thought Excavating Fate was going to be too close to a short story I’m working on — about someone finding and putting on an old artifact — but luckily for me, it seems to be different enough, other than the similar presence. Hey, great minds think alike! I wondered where you were going with it, and without giving any spoilers to other readers: wow, yes, that totally worked. Loved the really indepth sense of the ritual too. Congrats on getting your first poem published, too! I think all of us have felt that way at some point, such a universal emotion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading, Joy 🙂
      It’s a fairly common theme, isn’t it. Perhaps it’s the Plot Bunnies at work 😀 Great mind definitely think alike!
      I couldn’t be sure that the ending had worked as well as I thought it had so I was certainly pleased to read your thoughts. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Sammi,

    More success! Yay! 😀 And special congratulations on having your poem published, that’s a great achievement in itself, let alone having it published alongside your story as well! Brilliant. I thoroughly enjoyed both of course: the storyline was well imagined, and had me moving and swaying in the dance of shadows, eager to learn more of the unfolding ritual/drama and where it all may lead in the end. The way you shifted between locations whilst the vision consumed her was excellent, and the ending, a great twist, that still leaves me wondering. I was engaged within the narrative from start to finish, great fun. Thank you. 🙂

    I thought your poem captured the personal and innate mystery and illusiveness of masks really well: the hidden and unseen, the disguise, the barrier, the transforming nature of them. It left me idly wondering how we all wear masks really, perhaps many different masks throughout our lifetime, each representative of a different facet of our nature, or a different period in our unfolding. Quite how many different sides to our personality we have and how many masks we wear is a mystery that probably plays out in the fullness of time. And yet beneath theses exterior we show to the world, is the reality of who and what we are, a reality that sometimes we even keep hidden from ourselves as well…like wearing a mask inside a mask. Sometimes, it all seems to get so complicated being human.

    Just out of curiosity, do you have interest in Carnival, and/or its history and traditions?

    Thank you for sharing news of your success and links to both poem and story. Congratulations, and best wishes for further publications! Keep writing the poetry 🙂

    Have a great week. Happy scribbling 🙂

    Namaste

    DN – 21/03/2016

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read the story and poem, and for letting me know what you thought to both of them. Your words are generous and I appreciate them 🙂

      Your thoughts on masks are captivating. Masks inside masks! What an interesting notion. It begs the question where does one mask end and another begin? Do we even know? Can we?

      Do you know, Carnival is something that’s not crossed my path until now, or at least not as I’ve paid much attention to it. So, I’ve just read about its origins on Wikipedia and it sounds fascinating. I will definitely be reading more about it. Thank you for mentioning it 🙂

      “Keep writing the poetry” – Thank you for the encouragement – I need it 🙂

      Wishing you a great week too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Sammi,

    Always a pleasure to read your stories and share a little of your success with you…the comments I made were well deserved, as to the encouragement offered. Thoroughly enjoyed both story and poem, thank you. Please keep writing them! 🙂

    Masks are fascinating aren’t they! Your observations are also interesting…when our emotions and thoughts appear so seamless and our exteriors so contrived, where indeed does one mask begin and end and the next mask take over? I am not sure it is always possible to tell, especially if the eyes are concealed in some way as well and the window to the soul closed from view! A friend at university wrote their dissertation on the use of masks in film and animation, and whilst reading your story I recalled them mentioning carnival and circus as pivotal in the history of masks. If memory serves, carnival was in some way a descendant of pagan ritual, and follows on from the idea that an individual could feel empowered by taking on the visage of animals or beasts, gods or demons by adorning a mask or disguise. Some tribal Shamans and Witchdoctors still do wear masks and fashion ‘another skin’ to wear when carrying out rituals. I had never made that connection before, but thinking back to holidaying in the South West, I do remember watching a carnival procession that was more like the procession unwinding towards the Wicker Man in the film of the same name. There were stags and green-men and earth goddesses, and umpteen other references to Nature gods and deities and those fashioned from local folklore, legend and tradition. I wondered at the time why it appeared so very different to the rest of the carnival and why I found it all a little ‘creepy’…I was about 6 years old, naïve to the ways of yore and easily spooked, yet certainly interested (curious) to know more…as I hope you will be as well 🙂 I was pleased you found something of interest on Wiki to pursue and peruse. Perhaps your investigations will illuminate other areas of interest for you as well…carnival is a global phenomenon and each culture must have their own history, culture and interpretation. (As an aside, my friend went on to do theatrical makeup, costume and mask making, and now tours throughout the UK and Europe with a company of players. An interesting job for sure!)

    Ted has decided it’s nearly lights-out at Dewin’s and has gone for hot chocolate to help sleep. He’s been restless this past few nights and kept me awake, so I do hope the choccy helps calm him and we both sleep well…I need all the beauty sleep I can get 🙂 So I shall bid you goodnight and slide off to Zzzzz for forty winks.

    Take care. Have a great week. 🙂

    Namaste

    DN – 23/03/2016

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

