I never thought I would say this…

…I’ve had a short story published in an anthology of Western stories.  Honestly.  I swear it.  Completely unexpected, huh?  I couldn’t agree with you more.  I probably should explain…

As you may be aware, I’ve had a few short stories included in anthologies published by Zimbell House Publishing, who release a new anthology almost every month.  At the beginning of the year I decided to set myself a challenge: to try and submit a story for each anthology they released in 2016.  There was no expectation of having these stories accepted attached to the challenge.  All I had to do was write and submit.  I thought it would be good practice working to deadlines as well as concentrating my writing on a specific theme as all the anthologies are based around one central topic.  Where you go with it, is up to you.  As writing challenges go, this one looked really fun.  So, off I went to check out what calls they had already released.  And that’s when things turned a little squiffy…

February’s call was for an anthology titled “Where Cowboys Roam”.  And things started to fall apart.  What do I know about cowboys and the west?  I’m from the UK!  I’ve never even ridden a horse!  It looked like I was about to fail my challenge and I was only a few weeks into it.

Days passed.  A few ideas popped into my head.  I scribbled them down and put them to one side.  Concentrated on other things.  But I still couldn’t let it go.  So I wrote one of the short stories, and put that to one side.  Time moved on.  The deadline approached.  I looked over the short story, edited it.  Again, put it away.  I couldn’t submit it.  Surely it would lack a depth of knowledge to make the story convincing…

Then the day of the deadline was here.  And in a moment of madness, I submitted it.  No one is more surprised than me that the story found its way into the anthology.  I’m not sure which god or goddess was smiling down on me, or who worked the charm that brought me a miracle, but I am grateful (and still in shock) nonetheless.

Where Cowboys Roam

where cowboys roamMy story, Returning Home, focuses on Spencer who finds himself back on the family ranch in Montana after an accident that turned his life upside down.  The problem is, the family ranch is the last place he wants to be, especially as he is confronted with all the mistakes of his past…

where cowboys roam 1


Some useful Where Cowboys Roam links:

Where Cowboys Roam on the publisher’s website | Amazon UK | Goodreads

4 thoughts on “I never thought I would say this…

Leave a Reply

