Ten Word Stories

I love ten word stories and over the past few years I have read some fantastic ones.  It’s amazing how much some writers can convey using only ten words.

Ten word stories were one of those things I would write only when I felt in the mood to do so – like poetry.  However, since the start of April, I have added a daily challenge into my writing schedule…yep, you guessed it.  To write a ten word story a day.

And I’m really enjoying it.  Most days I do manage to pen more than one – like most things, once you get into the swing of it, you can just keep going.  The great thing about writing such short fiction is that it makes you appreciate every single word.  If it doesn’t add anything, if it doesn’t have to be there, you have to remove it.  And what better writing exercise can there be for any writer?

I’m now in the process of going through all my mini stories and posting the ones I like the most to Wattpad.  Currently (as of 25 May 2016) there are ten stories there to read.

Ten Word StoriesTen Word Stories by Sammi Cox (via Wattpad)

So, if you enjoy ten word stories or short fiction, please feel free to check it out.  And don’t forget to follow / vote / comment! 😉

Leave a Reply

