Ten Word Stories – Update

Ten Word Stories

So, last weekend I posted the 50th story in my book of Ten Word Stories that I have been writing on Wattpad.  I can’t believe it; it has come around so quickly.

And, most surprising of all, it’s the most popular of the stories that I have posted on there so far.  Over 300 reads, over 50 votes and people have actually commented too.  It just goes to show, I have no idea how Wattpad works.  All of my other works I have posted hoping they will get read; hoping that Andromache Jones especially would reach a wider audience, but no.  The collection of ten word stories on the other hand, had been posted purely for my own fun and enjoyment.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  I am fully aware that 300 reads on Wattpad is nothing in the great scheme of things.  However, in terms of my writing, I think it’s pretty awesome 😀

If you have a moment and are on Wattpad (or want to be – signing up is free), feel free to head on over to my profile page (here).  Let me know if you’re on Wattpad so that I can follow you and read some of your work, if you have published any 🙂

Have a great week everyone!

5 thoughts on “Ten Word Stories – Update

  1. Nice one, Sammi! Congrats on your 300 reads. I think that’s very impressive as there must be thousands of stories for people to read on there. For yours to be read by 300 people is impressive I think 🙂
    I think we’ve chatted about this before, Sammi, but I know Wattpad is supposed to be good for feedback but I’ve not signed up and don’t know how it works. Do you just put stuff up, hoping people will strip over it, or are more people likely to read it once a few have? Do you get links that draw readers in?
    Well done – and well done for posting 50 stories. Brilliant 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much, Lynn 🙂

      I would say that it’s a bit of both. As you read and comment on other stories and follow other writers, it draws people to your profile and your stories. But also, there are discover features. When you publish a new chapter, it will pop up on the ‘recently updated stories’ list in the category your posted it in. There is also a list for ‘undiscovered’ stories and you can apply for your story to be a featured story. Then, if your story is added to a reading list (whether your own or someone else’s) that will appear in the news feed of the people that follow whoever added it. There are also genre clubs where you can advertise your story, and some of the official genre profiles also run contests, competitions and put together anthologies. Finally there are awards you can compete in too (such as the Wattys) and Wattpad’s social media accounts also picks stories to promote.
      There we go. I think that’s everything (or at least, everything I’m aware of). Sorry to throw so much information at you, but I hope it helps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • It does sound good if you know how to use it properly and you have a huge dollop of luck! Get picked up by a lot of folk on Wattpad and you can get published through it. I’ll think about it for when my son goes back to school in September – at the moment I’m scraping what time I can to write and struggling to keep up! Thanks for all the great info Sammi 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have even less of an idea of how Wattpad works, but 300 reads still sounds like a lot to me! Thanks for the push to go sign up there. I looked through some of your Ten Word Stories (sorry, didn’t get through all 50). It’s amazing that you can think of so many brief snippets like that! Still, I personally prefer your longer stories: I think that gives you more space to shine and show your skills with characters and plot arcs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I honestly don’t expect anyone to read them all! I’m sure it would get pretty boring after a while. 😀

      To be honest, I think I prefer longer pieces too, but as a creative writing exercise it has helped me to appreciate more what I’m writing and what words I am using, and I can see the difference it has made, especially in my flash fiction.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

