Writing, Editing, NaNoWriMo and a Call for Submissions…

woodland-path

Things have been getting busy over at Sammi Scribbles HQ…but to be honest, I have been loving the opportunity to be so completely immersed in my scribbling.

This week I have been rewriting and editing an old short story, editing another short story, editing what was a novel down into a novella, whilst wondering if anything would come of the anthology idea I shared with you last weekend, titled “Winter Magic”.

The response to that post, both here and on Sammi Loves Books, was beyond anything I could have imagined. I did wonder if the post would just sink without a trace, but no, it did seem to generate some interest.  And so, with that in mind, I have decided that the anthology WILL go ahead.  Yay!  (And oh my!  Still nervous!)  That meant that there was quite bit to do for that if I was going to allow for a decent enough submissions window and still hope to get it out before Christmas.

I managed to cobble together the call for submissions and get it published last night, over at the new blog that will be dedicated to (hopefully) all these anthology ideas that are filling up my head.  For those that are interested, that blog can be found here, the submissions call can be found here and a post taking a look at how many different ways you can run with the theme can be found here.  If you do go and check it out, please let me know what your thoughts or if you think I’ve missed out anything important! 🙂

With nine days left of October, it can only mean that NaNoWriMo is round the corner.  I am still wondering if I will take part this year.  I have done it for the last four years and it would be a shame not to make it five in a row, so I probably will do it.  The only question is, what am I going to write?  I have a trillion novel ideas at various stages of planning, but I also have a number that require completing.  Then again, I could do what I did last year: 50,000 words of flash fiction and short stories…Logic dictates that I try and finish an old project before starting a new one, but it’s been a long time since I used anything resembling logic.  I tend to just go wherever my muse takes me.  It’s easier in the long run, and it keeps her happy.  Everyone knows that unhappy muses are impossible to live with…

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo?  Is all your planning in order or are you going to wing it?  If you want to be writing buddy’s, my username is Sammi Cox.

Have a great weekend all!

11 thoughts on “Writing, Editing, NaNoWriMo and a Call for Submissions…

    • That is definitely the hardest part – maintaining concentration on one thing for a whole month. That’s why a couple of times I have worked on a collection of flash fiction and short stories; it’s so much easier!
      Wishing you all the best for if you do decide to give it a go! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The call for submissions looks great Sammi! At this point I am still planning to sit out NaNo. I would love to do it, but I haven’t even been able to make my goal for Project 10K the past couple months. Plus I have the same problem you mention — what I really need to do is FINISH the novel I worked on last NaNo, not start a new one. My logical self is so far prevailing, but we’ll see. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for checking it out, Joy! I really appreciate it 🙂
      I’m still undecided about NaNo. *Sigh* One minute I think, “no, it makes no sense for me to do it this time round” and the next it’s, “I will be so disappointed with myself if I don’t”. I hate procrastinating…I think I just need to make a decision and stick with it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean — going back and forth was stressing me out too. I feel a lot better having decided, although I’m still disappointed not to be “in the game.” I have to be realistic about how I’m not actually getting my *normal* goals finished lately, and just can not afford to tack on this new thing, especially as it would mean starting a new novel, which isn’t even ON my priorities list right now.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

