I would give you a garden (poem publication)

My poem, I would give you a garden, has been published in Issue 2 of Umbel & Panicle.

About Umbel & Panicle

Umbel & Panicle is a new bi-monthly lit journal, inspired by plants and botanical things.  Each issue is centred on a theme, and contains a mix of poetry and photographs.

Issue 2’s theme was “Flower”, and my poem is perhaps a little different to the usual fare I post here.

You can read my poem by going to straight to its page, here, or start at the beginning of the issue, here.  The journal is a short read, but it is beautiful in its brevity, as you will see.  I’m honoured to have one of my poems included in it.

If you read the poem, please let me know! 🙂  And for those wishing to submit to them, the theme for Issue 3 is “Fruit”.

Enjoy your weekend and thanks for reading!

17 thoughts on “I would give you a garden (poem publication)

  1. Hey Sammi,

    How are you on this brightening Saturday morning?

    I’ve woken early and whilst waiting for the rest of the world to wake couldn’t resist taking a peek at the poem over a second cuppa. And I’m so pleased that I did give in to curiosity…different fare indeed, fresh, bright, glowing with spring sunshine bursting with blossoms of love and all wrapped around the heart of a sweet scented promise. Ahh Love, it is such an inspiring and colourful emotion and your garden a vision in full bloom. I hope you’ll be penning more for our pleasure.

    Your poem, perhaps an ode maybe, was a wonderful start to the weekends leisure, thank you.

    Wishing you a delightful weekend of peace, happiness, chocolate and bunnies. Happy Easter Sammi!

    Take care.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin 🙂
      Thanks so much for reading the poem and leaving such an inspiring comment. Whether I’ll be penning any more like this one, I’m not sure.
      I’m not entirely sure where this poem came from – it just seemed to write itself. lol 🙂
      The time before the world wakes is such a blessed, enchanting time, and perhaps my favourite of the day – if I can get out of bed, that is! 🙂
      I hope you had a nice Easter weekend and that the return to work after four days of freedom wasn’t too much of a chore 🙂
      Wishing you the brightest of blessings 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        My pleasure. Your poem amused the muse in me.

        Isn’t it mazing what springs forth from within when the balmy Moon whispers softly in your ear and flutters your heart? I’m certain there is more than just the one Love poem inside you Sammi…perhaps an entire anthology exists just waiting for your tender touch. Is it time to be bold and reveal the full depth of your poet I wonder?

        I love the peace that prevails during the golden hour. There is a moment…one that waits pregnant with anticipation for the rising sun: a moment when all of nature stills completely. I watch the birds land and in unison turn to stare towards the horizon, breath held just waiting. And then the tipping point arrives when the sun climbs above the horizon line and in that reverential moment, the first bird takes first flight in the clear sky of another new day. It is a signal indicating to other birds to fly, and they do, one afer another until they flock and soar and disappear from my view. I find it a magical time, when my thoughts lift a little higher and my heart warms in celebration.

        Thank you, my Easter weekend was as expected. And you? I trust the bunny brought you chocolate and Love in abundance. Going back to work after a break is never easy, going back to work in a dark place is like dying a little more every day. I hope you fared far better than I?

        Lovely to hear from you. Hoping all is well.

        Take care.

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Dewin,

        I hope you had a lovely weekend and that Monday was not too bad.

        My poem “amused the muse” in you – well, that’s just fantastic. So pleased to hear it 🙂

        That description describes all poetry writing perfectly – unconscious influence capturing the essence of emotion. As for more love poems…I think I’ll leave that to better poets, though I have been playing around with the idea of some kind of poetry anthology for a while now. Just pondering the theme. Currently I’m leaning towards “lost and liminal places”. Whether anything will come of it though, I’m not sure. Boldness is not a quality I possess, especially when it comes to poetry. I think, generally speaking, you put more of yourself in poetry than fiction writing and so it can be exhausting and leave you feeling more vulnerable to people’s interpretations of it. Which is why I tend to share and submit more fiction. 🙂

        Your sunrises sound magical and the aerial display of the birds thoroughly enchanting. No wonder they warm your heart 🙂 I’m blessed to have quite a few birds come and visit my garden – my camera is full of photos of them. They make me smile each time I see them, especially the jackdaws, robin and the blue tits – not that I have favourites 🙂

        Wishing you Bright Blessings for the week ahead 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        Thank you for your reply. How you doing? I hope Tuesday finds you well and happy and energised for the day ahead 🙂

        My Monday was like a tidal wave falling on a sandcastle! The flood waters have yet to subside and treading water is getting tiring. Fingers crossed for a spot of dry land soon.

        Your phrase, ‘unconscious influence capturing the essence of emotion’ is bubbling with poetry! ‘Tis but a stones-throw from that line to love poems. I think you do yourself an injustice by hiding your light under a bushel….you have a tender touch, an honest and passionate heart, and warm, gentle and caring nature. I’d love to see that invested in words. One never needs to explain Art (a poem) it just is, and all will find their own interpretation within the words. Sure it is a concentration of deep emotion and demands respect and investment, but it is rewarding being so intense and focussed….somehow the experience reaches into the very heart of ourselves and finds words and thoughts that need airing, expressing, and revealing. It is also healing and loving and fulfilling to engage on that deeply introspective level.

        You know me well enough to appreciate how magical I find the birds, all birds. They are messengers and angels and I love them all very much indeed. I had a very large Crow come and join me this afternoon. He/She stayed for an age on the guttering just centimetres away from my open window. I could the scratching, the flapping, the chattering, and the ‘crassing’ for well over half an hour. I found it most delightful having their company.

        Your garden sounds a small haven and a place favoured by the birds. Jackdaws, Robins, Blue Tits, what a delightful combination, and what wonderful symbolism each of them has. You must feel their presence with you 🙂

        Hmm your anthology idea sounds a treat just waiting to happen. The proposed title choice is excellent, though may I ask why the word ‘lost?’

        Well, midnight is here at the lost and found and I must away to my bed. I am shattered. I think I’ve written thousands of words in comments over the past three days, and my pen has now run dry. So I will bid thee farewell, and wish you a wonderful week.

        Sleep well Sammi, sweet dreams with the Sandman. Nos da 🙂

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Like

Leave a Reply

