Reflections – April 2017

I’ve started to do monthly round-up posts on my book review blog (check it out here if you want) and have found that they’re a nice, tidy way of bringing a month to a close, so I thought I would see how well it works for this blog.  Let’s see, shall we?

In a Nutshell

April has been a fairly busy month for me.  Camp NaNoWriMo and some free online study courses have kept me busy, but both were productive, engaging and inspiring.  I can’t complain that April’s cauldron of ideas and inspiration boiled dry.  In fact, quite the opposite happened as it bubbled away with a steady intensity.

Posts Published in April

Camp NaNoWriMo

After a slow start and a few hiccups, I eventually made my target of 25,000 words for Camp NaNoWriMo, thanks in no small part to one of my WIP novels – the last edit was completed on Friday, and so is a WIP no more!  So, in a few weeks time, I will begin the search for beta readers to find out whether there is any merit it.  Eek!  I also worked on a handful of short stories and novel ideas, some old, some new.

Post-A-Day In May

Due to severe lack of consistent presence on this blog over the last few months, I’ve decided to set myself a blogging challenge:

So what can you expect to see here throughout May?  All sorts.  Poetry and flash fiction (both new and from the archives), photography, maybe even a few writing prompts, an article or two about writing and some interesting calls for submissions I’ve come across.  I have lots of ideas and I feel like May will be a good time to start working on them…Feel free to grab the badge and join in!

Online Study

Recently, I’ve been taking a couple of online courses.  The first was on the subject of archaeology and I loved it.  The second was on Ancient Rome, and it has been mind-blowing.  The same study platform is offering a free creative writing course (it started last week) but I decided against signing up to that at the moment.  I’m not sure that I have the time at present but it will be re-run later in the year.  If you’re interested in checking out the site, here’s the link:

https://www.futurelearn.com/

Ten Word Stories

My collection of Ten Word Stories has now reached over the 2000 reads mark on Wattpad. Yay!  Naturally, I’m really chuffed – I never expected that at all.  If you would like to check out, here’s the link:

https://www.wattpad.com/story/72457310-ten-word-stories-complete

Dreaming Spirit Press

Submissions are open until 21st May 2017 to the Summer 2017 anthology, Summer Spells.  Submissions to Issue 2 of Whispers and Echoes are also open.  There might even be another anthology in the pipeline, one that will be released around the end of October. I bet you can’t guess the theme… 😀  For more information on any of the above, check out the Dreaming Spirit Press site.

And that wraps up April.  On this May Eve, I have high hopes for the coming month, but only time will tell if I can keep my focus.  I keep telling myself, it’s just a question of mind over matter…

Leave a Reply

