A Doomed Destiny

Doomed dreams, doomed hope, doomed footsteps

Eternal, everlasting, evermore

Somethings change, this never does

Till the end of days

I am fated to relive, to repeat, over and over

Never a moments peace or pause

Yet, there is one thing that can reset the cycle anew…


A little bit of lazy poetry.  I’ve purposely left the last line open-ended because I couldn’t decide in what direction to take the poem.  Supernatural and the breaking of a curse.  Romantic and the finding of a one true love.  

So the question is this: what might that one thing be that resets the cycle anew and changes this doomed destiny?  Feel free to post your thoughts and ideas below 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Doomed Destiny

  1. Afternoon Sammi,

    How are you doing? I hope all is well and your spirits remain high despite the moody weather that seems to have moved back into the UK. Warmish though it is, I’d like to have the sunshine back 🙂

    The notification in my email inbox is too small to do your poem credit, it’s excellent, so I had to ‘cum by yer’ and read it on the big screen. So pleased that I did, as I thoroughly enjoyed its melody, its pulse, beat and rhythm as it circles around and around destiny itself. It’s one of my favourites already and I’ve read it several times through and each time I am pulled further into unknowing until I all but disappear without a trace. It is as Churchill once said, ‘…a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma; but perhaps there is a key’? You offer up two choices for possible endings that were considered, both of which perplex and deepen the mystery the poem contains even further! ‘Supernatural and the breaking of a curse ~ or ~ Romantic and the finding of a one true love.’ Hmmm, ‘Curiouser and curiouser!” Cried Alice (she was so much surprised, that for the moment she quite forgot how to speak good English 🙂 Being the inquisitive type I wanted to know more…and so I re-read your poem from 3rd September 2015 ~ https://sammiscribbles.wordpress.com/2015/09/03/fighting-fate/ ~ to see if it held any clues. But alas, it is filled with even more mystery, and twists and turns more tightly than a cat on a hot-tin roof. 🙂 lol

    Hence, I paused my search and re-read the poem, still none the wiser as to the cyclic mystery it contained, but ready to accept I was never going to know the secret it held, yet prepared to offer a suggestion regards the doomed fate: perhaps the finding of a one true love will break the curse? 🙂 Just a thought.

    Thank you for sharing this intriguing dilemma with us. I’ve enjoyed whiling away a while pondering your mysterious poem. The photograph, whilst black and white, may disguise the fact the tree is flourishing behind a silhouetted veil? 🙂

    Wishing you a wonderful evening.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin 🙂

      Thankfully, we had a nice dose of sunshine yesterday, that lingered long into the evening, allowing for a walk by the river. This offered the chance to watch damselflies dancing, which was enchanting, and provided much inspiration for some short poems I wrote on my return.

      I’m sure you are being far too generous with regards to the poem, but thank you 🙂 At the time of posting, I couldn’t decide whether I liked the poem at all; it felt quite dark and vague and even a little sad, even with the last line offering a glimmer of hope and redemption. So to hear its one of your favourites is a gift! Thank you 🙂 And thank you for checking out Fighting Fate – I have just reread it myself as it had been a while. I couldn’t help but smile at the photos of jackdaws…

      “perhaps the finding of a one true love will break the curse?” – Ah, I like that. Perhaps I shall have to write a second verse now…

      As for the photograph; it’s a little noteworthy (to me) that it is the one I used for the first poem I ever posted and shared on this blog. It was a haiku, Painted with Shadows, and your comment – may disguise the fact the tree is flourishing behind a silhouetted veil – seems to fit it perfectly 🙂

      Bright Blessings for the rest of the week, Dewin, and on into the weekend 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

