On the Run (part 2)

To read the previous instalment of this flash fiction serial, click here: Part One


I made the train.  I still don’t know how.  One minute I was running, sure I was going to miss it, the next, the locomotive slowed down to go through the tunnel.  I caught up with the last carriage, grabbed a handle and pulled myself up.  Opening the door was trickier, thanks to the cold, but I did it.

The rear carriage was empty, so I had no fear of being found.  I took a seat next to the window and tried to calm down.  I never imagined making it this far.

The train wouldn’t stop again for twelve hours, so I dozed for a while.  When I woke it was to find that the forest had gone and in its place a snow-white expanse stretched for miles and miles, until it merged imperceptibly with the snow-filled sky.  We had reached the Wastelands.

No one got off in the Wastelands.  Ever.  There are no stations, no homes, no people.  Nothing.  Only ghosts from the war.  But that was my destination. Oh, and if you were found there, you would be executed.

After five hours or so, I started to look outside for the sign that meant my train journey was at an end: a tree standing alone with a large strip of red fabric tied to it.  Then I jumped off, a dense blanket of snow cushioning my landing.

My directions, all committed to memory, were to climb the hill before me.  It was hard-going through the snow and by the time I reached the top I was freezing.  But what I saw on the other side was more than enough to make me forget the cold and even the danger I was in. Out of the snow protruded a huge iron gate, held up by massive stone pillars, which were flanked on either side by a short section of dense hedges.

What was this place?  It looked like a ruin, a relic of the time before war tore our country apart.

I walked down the slope, my curiosity growing.  My anxiety too.  I had no idea what or who I would find here.  When I reached the gate, I looked through the bars, but all I could see was more snow.  Tentatively, I lifted the latch, pushed open the gate and walked through.


This was written in response to Emily’s Sunday Scrawl #2 photo prompt, over at A Writer’s Beginning.  Thanks for the inspiration, Emily 🙂

15 thoughts on “On the Run (part 2)

  1. Hey Sammi,

    How ya doing? Hoping all is well in all ways 🙂

    This is an intriguing tale unfolding: I am hooked into it and now eager to know what lies beyond the gates? The tension is certainly growing as the story progresses. I found parts of the story tinged with sadness: the war reference and the chaos perhaps lingered with me whilst the mystery and the plot thickened ever further. It’s an engaging tale, thank you 🙂

    I also thought it a difficult and complex challenge set by Emily that was well met by all. I’m keen to know where part 3 may lead?

    Enjoy your evening SC. Take care.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin, I’m fine thank you. How are you? 🙂

      So glad you found the tale intriguing. I too want to know what lies beyond the gate. We’ll just have to see what photo we are presented with on Sunday.

      This is my first attempt at writing something apocalyptic / dystopian, and so far I’m enjoying it. It’s nice to give something new a try 🙂

      Trying to get the tale to flow from one photo (winter) to the next (summer) was challenging but fun. I just had to get a little creative and pick the elements I could use 🙂

      Thanks for reading 🙂 Wishing you the Brightest Blessings 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You did an excellent job, pleasure to read. The apocalyptic / dystopian angle now intrigues me more! Yet you know me and happy endings…I do hope one might finally conclude this tale?

    I found the Wastelands at once both fascinating and saddening. The red ribbon also piqued my interest. Both captured my imagination and fed that curiosity back into the story. There must be a Part 3 and Emily is now under immense pressure to get the choice of photo just right! lol 🙂

    Take care. Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on A Writer's Beginning and commented:
    The second week of the Sunday Scrawl challenge is officially over! Thank you to everyone who took part; it’s been an immense pleasure to read your wonderful responses to my photo! I’ve reviewed all entries and chosen a ‘winner’ for the week – it’s only a little late because I moved flat on Saturday, so everything has been a bit of a mess!

    This was not an easy decision to make as so many of the entries were not only well written, but engaging and pretty intense! I have, however, selected Sammi’s story to reblog this week; part of a serial that she’s writing, this week’s piece of writing was simply stunning. Thanks again to everyone who has taken part this week; as there were so many great entries, I’ve added links to all of them below!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: On the Run – Part 3 | Sammi Cox

  5. Pingback: On the Run – Part 4 | Sammi Cox

  6. Pingback: On the Run – Part 5 | Sammi Cox

Leave a Reply

