Weekend Writing Prompt #13 – Light

A word and photo prompt to get your creativity flowing this weekend.  Use the prompts separately or together.  It’s up to you.  Write a piece of flash fiction, a poem, a chapter for your novel…anything you like.  Or take the challenge below – there are no prizes (it’s not a competition) but rather a fun writing exercise.  If you want to share what you come up with, please leave a link to it in the comments.

Word Prompt

Light

Photo Prompt

 

Challenge

Prose Challenge – Write a story in no more than 200 words that focuses on a source of light.  (It can be a metaphorical light source).

Poetry Challenge – Write a poem of no more than 15 lines about “Light and Dark”, that repeats at least two lines of the poem.

Can’t wait to read what you have come up with!

24 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Prompt #13 – Light

  1. Pingback: Shifting shafts of light – Reena Saxena

  2. Hey Sammi,

    How are you doing? 🙂

    I stayed awake all night in eager anticipation of your Saturday Challenge…I kept wondering if the prompt was going to be the deviously difficult one referred to earlier in the week. Is it?? Is it???? lol 🙂

    Anyhoo…before I had chance to set pen to paper earlier on this morning the fire alarms went off in the flats and could not be reset for hours. As a result I am late today with my reply having decided to head out rather than try to block out the noise of the alarm. Happily it all fixed now and normality resumes. Here’s my entry for this weeks challenge.

    ~ Light ~ By ~ Dewin Nefol ~

    To this day I am beholden to an experience,
    To one moment that made me see
    When my focus became a fixated state,
    One enlightened by infinity.
    ~
    I was idly lazing my day spent gazing
    in amazement from a hilltop retreat.
    When one beam of light shone so bright,
    It all but knocked me off my feet!
    ~
    This energetic bead stilled in front of my eyes,
    pulsing with potentiality from within.
    It was omnipotent I knew with sentient consciousness too,
    for it shared the secret of its origin!
    ~
    Secrets are always safe with me, but you now know why,
    to this day I am beholden to an experience.
    To one moment that made me see.
    ~

    Thank you for setting the challenge Sammi. I also thought the photograph exuded a wonderful tone, a silvery white, its quite beautiful. Reminded me of a silvered projection screen. Do you recall the Church the photograph was taken in? 🙂

    I trust your Saggy (possibly as soggy as mine) has been a delight to write home about and your evening a retreat to treat 🙂 Take care of one and all.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 4 people

      • Why thank you Michael I am happy that you enjoyed the poem 🙂 I believe we’ve all been inspired as pioneers inspired by a Challenge. Thank you Sammi C 🙂

        Hoping your weekend rocks with a roll. Take care of one and all 🙂

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Dewin 🙂

      No, this isn’t the deviously difficult challenge that I’ve squirrelled away. You’ll know it when you see it 😀

      Your poem is so beautifully written (like all your poems). I love the opening and closing lines. Is the subject of the poem the same as the experience you recounted to me before, at a stone circle or was it a burial cairn?

      The church the photo was taken in was a redundant one in a north Bedfordshire village, now in the care of a conservation charity. It’s a very special, very quiet place 🙂

      Thanks for joining in with the Weekend Writing Prompt 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sammi,

        It was a pleasure to participate in your challenge. Thank you for setting it and for kind words in reply to it 🙂

        Not the deviously difficult one? Oooh okie dokie, then I am again live upon the rack, once more tortured by the anticipation of waiting. ‘You’ll know it when you see it’ – what does that even mean??? lol 🙂

        The poem was based on a day-dream in which a bead of light paused in front of my eyeball and stayed there so that I could walk around it, look at it from different angles and in different ways. Earlier in the day I had been looking at images of the sky depicting puncture marks in the atmosphere, which for all intents-and-purposes looked like something had passed through the fabric of space. In my dream the bead of light was the object passing through the fabric of space, it was sentient, alive and pulsing. It was all things and yet itself was undefined and undeterminable. I paused it on my eyeball before allowing it to puncture through eye membrane and retina and enter my mind.

        The burial Cairn/Stone circle experience related more directly to sound, wind, mist, movement and watching spirits spiral rise and fade away from atop a hilltop overlooking the Severn Estuary. Another spectacle to amaze 🙂

        Regards your photo, perhaps it is your regard and warmth for the church that is present in the softness of the silver colouring. I find it dreamy but with an edge of something more to it, although I’m not sure what. Its gently intense, thought provoking perhaps.

        I’m of to Zzzz, so will bid thee nos da and wish you a happy Thursday. Thank you again for the challenge. Looking forward to this Saturday’s 🙂

        Take care. Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Dewin 🙂

        I hope you’ve had an enjoyable Thursday.

        Thank you for sharing the background to the poem. It sounds like it was a pretty amazing daydream.

        As to the church, there is something quite remarkable about it. It has an atmosphere all its own, and is a lovely space to spend a little time lost in thought. The village it’s in is more of a hamlet really, so the sounds of the modern world are very far away… And yet, often when I look at this picture of the window I don’t necessarily think of that church and that space, but instead a monastery or an abbey. Perhaps its because I associate it with contemplation…But yes, I agree with what you say about it being gently intense and thought-provoking. 🙂

        Wishing you Bright Blessings for Friday, and on through the weekend 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt #13 – Light – Ramblings of a Writer

  4. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt #13 – Light | Morpethroad

  5. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt #13 – Light – All About Writing and more

  6. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt #13 – Light | The Shower of Blessings

  7. Pingback: Prompt 13 – Light – The Bag Lady

  8. Pingback: Out Of The Darkness | Following Him Beside Still Waters

  9. Pingback: The Light and Dark of You | Sammi Cox

  10. Pingback: Guiding Light – 200 Word Flash Fiction – Fred Rock

Leave a Reply

