The Light and Dark of You

I see the light in your smile

And the dark in your eyes

Weaving together tales

Of love and loss

A heart that has swelled with joy

And broken with anguish

A lifetime of living

Etching experience

On the fabric of you

And if I look carefully

Study you with the attention you deserve

I’ll uncover your secrets, as

I see the light in your smile

And the dark in your eyes

Remembering this is only the beginning of your story…


Here’s my poem for this week’s Weekend Writing Challenge. I decided to have a go at the poetry challenge:

Poetry Challenge – Write a poem of no more than 15 lines about “Light and Dark”, that repeats at least two lines of the poem.

2 thoughts on “The Light and Dark of You

Leave a Reply

