Weekend Writing Prompt #14 – Fear

A word and photo prompt to get your creativity flowing this weekend.  Use the prompts separately or together.  It’s up to you.  Write a piece of flash fiction, a poem, a chapter for your novel…anything you like.  Or take the challenge below – there are no prizes (it’s not a competition) but rather a fun writing exercise.  If you want to share what you come up with, please leave a link to it in the comments.

Word Prompt

Fear

Photo Prompt

 

Challenge

Prose Challenge – Write a pangram – a single sentence that contains every letter of the alphabet at least once – inspired by the theme of fear and set in the photo.

Poetry Challenge – Taking inspiration from both the theme and the photo, write an ABC / Alphabet poem – where the first letter of each line is the next letter in the alphabet (the first line begins with “A”, the second “B”, the third “C” and so on).  It is up to you how many lines you write.

Bonus point to those whose alphabet poem runs all the way from A-Z 🙂

Can’t wait to read what you have come up with!

31 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Prompt #14 – Fear

  1. Hey Sammi,

    A 2nd good morning to you 🙂 How are you? How was your week?

    Hmmm, you asked me earlier if I thought this the devilishly difficult challenge? And indeed it is both devilish (dastardly so) and difficult (demanding) and I had a go…inspired by foxes…but I do not think it is the fiendishly flamboyant challenge you have previously reference? Am I wrong? Would you even declare that it were the specific challenge even when it was anyway??? lol 🙂 You tease, so I called this Ahhhh! lol 😀

    ~ Ahhhhh! ~ By ~ Dewin Nefol ~

    A flaming red dawn.
    Bewitched me.
    Confused me.
    Darkened me.
    Engulfed me.
    Firmly took hold. She.
    Gestated inside me.
    Hardened in my heart
    Intensified in my eye
    Jackhammered my senses!
    Killing my already hesitant resolve,
    Leaving doubt,
    Mindlessly to roam and jar,
    Nerve endings,
    Outlook,
    Perception!
    ~
    Quintessentially displaced but suddenly emergent!
    Rising to challenge, I muster
    Stealth and cunning!
    Tenacity courage strength and bravado!
    ~
    Uneasy yet undaunted I am night’s
    Vixen!
    Wild, a phantom, a scarlet warrior, a
    Xiphoid splicing morn’s red dawn and,
    Yielding as only Nature yields, to
    Zeroth only.
    ~

    Thanks SC, and thank you for best wishes for the habitual grocery trip. I think I mentioned I was listening to Disney songs earlier this morning and the last song was Hercules. I thought it most fitting ahead of the supermarket outing. It will be a herculean challenge getting there and back but I will face it as a man should. No doubt it will be the manner of my return that will or will not define my noble character lol 🙂

    Many thank you’s for setting the challenge 🙂 Oooh, regards dragons and Sir Dewin…I have two weeks to wait to see if the wound was mortal or not. 😦

    Anyhoo, hoping you and the moggies, et one and all have a wonderful weekend. Take care in all ways.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 3 people

      • Hey Michael,

        Thank you kind sir! Tis an Americanism, a word that protested so loudly and pecked at my head so enthusiastically to be included in the poem, that I just had to submit to its noise 🙂

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

      • Me as well Michael, it’s like a woodpecker pecking my timber top 🙂

        Curiously today the real-estate agents have kindly invited their gardeners to tidy up the hedges and carry out surgery on the trees. There is a wood pulping machine chewing its way through heaps of branches whilst a chainsaw chews through the trees. It is a cacophony of sound loud enough to energise the dinner plates in the dish rack and have them rattle out an accompaniment. Beyond the reach of the flats’ tarmac apron and driveway, workman carry out repairs on the road. Their pneumatic drill, the pneumatic falttener, the caterpillar digger, compliment the chaotic symphony. If I said I am back listening to Disney songs, you’ll understand the reason why lol 🙂

        Wishing you an undisturbed day.

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

    • Lovely poem, Dewin, and a great response to the challenge. The first verse, with the short lines, really heightened the tension and increased the pace. “Xiphiod” and “Zeroth” – fabulous choice of words! Thanks for joining in with the Weekend Writing Challenge. Have a great weekend 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Morning Sammi,

        Thank you 🙂 Thank you for setting the challenge. There are a growing number of Bloggers now looking forward to the challenge posted today! 🙂

        Xiphoid I remembered from long ago at school and zeroth a word I came across studying animation. I became fascinated with looping cycles of film and needed a term to define neither the end nor the beginning of the same film when it ended and begun again.

        Hoping all is well with you and your weekend has started on a high. Enjoy your day!

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Alphascream – A Writer's Beginning

  3. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt #14 – Fear – Ramblings of a Writer

  4. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt: Fear – The Bag Lady

  5. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt #14 – Fear | Morpethroad

  6. Pingback: Mysteries we love – Reena Saxena

  7. Pingback: Feelings of Fear – BronxBeyondBorders

  8. Pingback: Sacrifice – Gems of Literature

  9. Pingback: The climax – Thought trail

  10. Pingback: Too-Close Crimson Trees…Fear | GOD'S CHAIR

Leave a Reply

