Weekend Writing Prompt #15 – Intricate

A word and photo prompt to get your creativity flowing this weekend.  Use the prompts separately or together.  It’s up to you.  Write a piece of flash fiction, a poem, a chapter for your novel…anything you like.  Or take the challenge below – there are no prizes (it’s not a competition) but rather a fun writing exercise.  If you want to share what you come up with, please leave a link to it in the comments.

Word Prompt

Intricate

Photo Prompt

 

Challenge

Prose Challenge – Write a story in 250 words that begins with the line: “It’s an intricate problem.”

Poetry Challenge – Write a poem in no more than 13 lines inspired by the intricacies of life.

Can’t wait to read what you have come up with!

30 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Prompt #15 – Intricate

  1. Good morning Sammi,

    How are you doing?

    I couldn’t resist splicing a Disney song to fit the word ‘intricacies.’ It’s not a submission, more a grimm giggle on this slate grey morning 🙂 Add or amend the deviation from the original as you see fit.

    Lyrics from “The Jungle Book” ~ Composed by Terry Gilkyson ~ amended by Dewin Nefol (sorry!) ~

    Look for the bare intricacies
    The simple bare intricacies
    Recall all your worries and your strife
    I mean the bare intricacies
    Old mother Nature’s recipes
    That are the intricate problems of life
    ~
    Wherever I wander
    Wherever I roam
    I couldn’t be more loathing of my small home
    The bees aren’t buzzin’ in the tree
    So there’ll be no honey just for me
    When I look under the rocks and plants
    And take heed at the fancy ants
    Then I recall I’ve already tried a few
    ~
    The bare intricacies of life have come to me
    They’ve come to me!
    ~
    Look for the bare intricacies
    The simple bare intricacies
    Recall all your worries and your strife
    I mean the bare intricacies
    That’s why a bare rests at ill-ease
    With just the bare intricacies of life
    ~
    Now when you pick a pawpaw
    Or a prickly pear
    And you prick a raw paw
    Well, next time beware
    Don’t pick the prickly pear by the paw
    When you pick a pear
    Try to use the claw
    But you don’t need to use the claw
    When you pick a pair of the big pawpaw
    Have I given you a clue?
    ~
    The bare intricacies of life have come to me
    They’ve come to me!
    ~

    Lyrics cannibalised from those compiled by Disneyclips.com. (My apologies for deviation)

    I’ll pop back later. Until then, enjoy Soggy.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 3 people

      • Hey Michael,

        How are you? Well I hope and enjoying a peaceful and warm weekend.

        Thank you for the suggestion, but seriously no, you really don’t want to hear me sing it lol 😀 Not even the crows sitting on the bathroom window sill of a morning hang around to listen to my cat-wail. You’ve also identified the harsh sound of the ‘c’ upsetting the melody, which is a hiccup surmountable to a trained voice but not mine. Does its frustrating influence lend to the disquiet in the poem?

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Michael,

        Perhaps your musical friend is right in believing what they do: that a singer (a performer?) exists in us all. They say much the same about all forms of artistic/creative expression, that all it takes to know what one can do is the courage to have a go. However, with the crows abandoning me and my woeful voice of a morning, I am not filled with confidence. If when the neighbours cat starts too sing along with me then it will be time to admit I wasn’t born to sing.

        And you Michael, do you perhaps sing a little, or can you turn a tune as they might say? 🙂 If so the stage is all yours so feel free to slap on the rouge and entertain once again…

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Like

      • Lol 😀 Good afternoon Sammi.

        You do? Even after all that I said in reply to Michael? 🙂 Oh my!

        I’ve moved on in my repertoire to embrace songs from Tarzan…but I also do great damage to those lines as well lol 🙂 I have a grimm voice.

        Thank you for your confidence SC, but with sincerity I’ll graciously decline and open up the mic to all comers…will you be indulging us with a tune? Didn’t you say jut the other day in a comment that you’d consider singing a song for the Knights of the Round Table after a jar or two. Well here’s your chance to quaff and let it go! 🙂

        Hoping all is well and Sunday a treat. Take care.

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

      • Not the way that I sing it lol 🙂 But yes, it is a beautiful song and a joy to listen to. As a friend once said, Tarzan is the beast of man tamed by the best of Jane 🙂 Grrr! lol 😉

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt #15 – Intricate – Ladyleemanila

  3. Hey Sammi,

    How are you doing? 🙂 Have you had a good day? An enjoyable weekend thus far?

    A mid-afternoon submission. I feel wearisome and battle fatigued after a long week so a dispirited entry from me. Everyday can’t always be blessed with sunshine, but one day it might be 🙂

    ~ Simple ~ By ~ Dewin Nefol ~

    I was once a biological entity with relevance
    Now disquieted by governmental contrivance
    Political petulance perfidious malignance
    Conceived artificially taking precedence.
    Its prevalence and acceptance
    A resonance with malevolence
    A pre-eminence with maleficence
    Ill-fitting and distasteful such
    pestilence has brought penitence
    To a citizen wanting deliverance
    From the forge of twisted Hephaestus
    ~
    Uninspired I aspire only to escape,
    the intricacies of a distrusted life
    To leave behind me traditional living
    In favour of hermetic solitudes
    Striving to avail myself
    Of life’s lingering malaise
    Found in my age of days, but
    Oh for the simple joy of being human again and
    Relevant to myself!
    ~
    Thank you for setting the challenge Sammi. I’ll pop back later to enjoy other people’s work. Ciao for now.

    Enjoy the late afternoon and evening 🙂

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 4 people

      • Hey Fluid Phrase,

        Its very kind and considerate of you to comment, thank you. I’m happy to know you enjoyed my scribble. I found the word ‘intricacies” quite a challenge…the abrasive sounding ‘c’ is tricky to soften.

        May I say I do like the nom-de-plume Fluid Phrase 🙂 The graphic presents a nice flourish on your Gravatar.

        Until next time we meet here on Sammi’s Saturday Challenge, I wish you a wonderful week. Take care in all ways always.

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Sammi. It’s always a pleasure to participate in the challenge and to enjoy sense of a writing camaraderie growing amongst fine friends with fluttering quills and excellent craft.

        Thanks for setting the challenge. You are leading us all a merry dance though none of us know the destination. Yet still we follow your artful instruction and reach for the quill box. It must be your charm that has us return each week for more.

        Have a great weekend SC! Take care of one and all 🙂

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Invasive Intricacies – Up Against Mortality

  5. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt #15 – Intricate – Cyril Rum | Morpethroad

  6. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt #15 – Intricate – All About Writing and more

  7. Pingback: Intricacies of Carbon – Up Against Mortality

  8. Pingback: Weekend Writing Prompt – First Line – The Bag Lady

Leave a Reply

